New 2008 BMW R1200GSA

Preparation – The foundation for a safe and successful trip

Preparation of a motorcycle trip that will last for more than 6 months and on a distance of over 20000 km is not made lightly. This is certainly not an improvisation exercise and requires careful and meticulous planning in order to minimize risks and ensure that the time spent travelling is done so for the adventure and not spending time handling problems!

I have prepared in different ways, for almost 10 years!

The first step was to choose the right motorcycle. This is a matter of preference and taste and the options are various. Mine is a BMW R1200GS Adventure. But lets se how this came about.

In 2007, I bought a R1200GS.

My first adventure bike, a 2007 BMW R1200GS
My first adventure bike, a 2007 BMW R1200GS

That summer, I travelled for more than 20000 km. loved the bike but never the less, some issues pushed me to turn to the Adventure model of the same series, which offers the following benefits:

  • Substantial increase in autonomy with a bigger tank (600 km compared to 350)
  • Enduro transmission providing easier off-road driving or when the bike is loaded with heavy luggage with a shorter 1st speed
  • Better protection before with a larger windscreen
  • Better protection of the legs against the wind with a bigger gaz tank
  • Electronic suspension for adjustments in various conditions such as bumpy roads, off-road or with passenger and luggage
  • A more powerful electrical system for accessories such as a heating jacket, heated gloves, GPS, phone charger
  • Higher driving position, an advantage in trails or rough roads
  • Metal panniers that are more solid, offer more space and safer agains possible thiefs
  • Better lighting with the additional fog lights
  • Electrical outlets for accessories
  • Spoke wheels

In 2008, I purchased a new GS but this time, the Adventure version. In July of that year, I travelled across Canada for 6 weeks, up to the Canadian Arctic Circle, in Inuvik, NWT. (Link to the blog for this trip)

Dempster Highway in 2008
Dempster Highway in 2008

Here’s what I learned from this experience.

The positive:

GPS: mandatory! The model chosen (Garmin Zumo 550) was perfect. Yes I know, some will say that the good old maps make are sufficient, but for my part, I have no time to lose toget lost. There are so many interesting things to see that I do not have a couple hours to spare each day to find an address or a motel. This is a tool I use to the maximum and even if things wiil be different (inacurate maps) in Central and South America, I intend to use this tool everyday.

Lockable Touratech GPS mount: Provides peace of mind when leaving the bike a few minutes and the necessary strength to cope bad roads or trails in poor condition

Widder heated vest with sleeves: I could not imagine doing a motorcycle trip without this piece of equipment, it’s as simple as that! The advantage of the Widder was its strong connections and dimmer which offered the possibility of fine adjustments to the desired temperature (I now have the Powerlet model, allowing the addition of heated gloves).

ASC Suspension: This option offered on the new GS actually provides clear advantages when driving off-road, especially with a heavily loaded bike

Throttle Lock: Although this is not a cruise control as such, this little mechanism used to lock the throttle grip and to, time to time, rest my arm. In addition, I could handle things with my right hand (zipper, helmet, food …) which is a great advantage. I could not imagine such a trip without this equipment!

Tire change, basic mechanics: Having practiced tire changes and making basic maintenance to the bike, I felt prepared for possible problems.

Weaknesses:

BMW AllRound Gloves: These gloves made of leather work 95% of the time, but does not offer enough protection against the cold and rain. I now wear heated gloves and a waterproof Art’ericx shells in cold or bad weather and a pair of BMW GS gloves for hot days

Sleeping bag: I tried to save space with a +7C sleeping bag. Well, it was ultra compact, but made in the majority of my nights uncomfortable. Unfortunately, a -9C bag is essencial for this kind of trip with the consequence more volume of luggage

Luggage transport system: My strategy was simple: nothing should be free, unlocked on bike. This was simply not possible. The solution is to add extra carrying bag and lock them with a PACKSAFE net

Lights: GS stock lights are not sufficient to comfortably drive at night, even with the fog lights turned on. Frankly, it’s unsafe. I modified my system to HID

Seat: The original seat of my BMW R1200 GS Adventure is firm, durable and comfortable for many situations, but is not designed for long days of driving and was certainly one of the most negative points of the trip. Despite the addition of an AIRHAWK cushion, pain appeared quickly and became unbearable. I purchased a saddle Sargent, what a difference!

Helmet: I used a helmet Nolan N102 for 2 reasons. The first is that it is modular, allowing me to raise the entire front. For me it is a priority! It gives me freedom of action, but mostly makes hot days much more pleasant, besides the fact that you can more easily communicate (gas station, Customs and others). But frankly, I hate the helmet. Just too heavy, very noisy (wind), poor sound (music), bad sealing (rain enters the visor even when completely closed, very fragile ( I lost parts from the helmet because of the wind), the connectors must be handled with care, because the internal welds easily brokes (2 changes under warranty), expensive (with accessories, almost $ 1000 !!!).For a trip to South America for example, it is not an option. I turned to the BMW System 6 helmet that I’ve now used and loved for 3 years!

These changes were tested in 2011 during additional long trips (Labrador, Newfoundland, California) and other shorter but off the beaten track in Vermont and Quebec. Nothing is perfect but I’m comfortable with my equipment and I am confident that everything will be perfect for a trip to South America. The preparation of this trip and the experiences I’ve had will be key to this journey.

In 2010, the bike had already over 130000 km so I decided to sell it and purchase of the same model from 2010, in order to travel to South America (initially scheduled for 2012 or 2013). It is on this bike that I will do my journey in 2016. It has 53000 km on the odometer and is in very good condition.

The new toy!
The new toy!

The preparation of this adventure is therefore done in 6 steps:

  1. Motorcycle purchase
  2. Practice, practice, practice
  3. Adjustments and tests
  4. Listing equipment or items to bring
  5. Listing, taking photos and storage (many dry runs!)
  6. Maintenance of the bike (just before leaving)

The last 3 points are divided into 9 categories:

  1. Accessories for the motorcycle (farkles)
  2. Medical, health, insurance
  3. Tools
  4. Parts for maintenance
  5. Motorcycle clothing
  6. Equipment for camping / hiking
  7. Clothing
  8. Electronic equipment
  9. Documents, maps (GPS / Paper), itinerary, budget

The next posts will focus on each of these preparation steps!

Next Article (Recent) ⇨
Route du Nord, Québec

Preparation - Motorcycle Equipment (farkle!)

Farkle (also spelled “farkel”) is a term common among adventure motorcyclists. Enthusiasts will “farkle up” their motorcycles with aftermarket accessories such as radar detectors, GPS units, tall windscreens, steering stabilizers, carbon fiber bits, cushy aftermarket seats, and so on... The BMWR1200GSA comes standard with an impressive list of equipment, but ... Read more

⇦ Previous Article (Older)
A great and almost isolated road near La Rioja, Argentina

Why am I doing this trip?

When I tell my friends of this project to cross the Americas on my motorcycle, I see all kinds of reactions but they are all similar to this example: "You are leaving for six weeks to Argentina, that's just amazing! ". I gently respond, "No, no, not six weeks, I'm leaving for 6 months ... Read more


Marc Ouellet

Adventurer at heart. Travelling on 2 wheels to South America soon!

2 COMMENTS
  • Chris Cheston
    Reply

    We like the flip flop biker ‘boots’ Marc.
    Chris.

    1. Marc Ouellet
      Reply

      Live free or die! Seriously, I would never ride in flip flops!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

code

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial

Nouvelle BMW R1200GSA 2008

Préparation – Les bases d’un voyage sécuritaire et réussis

La préparation d’un voyage de moto qui risque de durer plus de 6 mois sur une distance de plus de 20000 km ne se fait pas à la légère. Ce n’est pas un exercice d’improvisation et nécessite une planification rigoureuse et méticuleuse afin de réduire au maximum les risques afin de s’assurer que le temps passé à voyager soit pour l’aventure et le moins possible pour gérer les problèmes!

Je me prépare de différentes façons depuis près de 10 ans!

La première étape fut de choisir la bonne moto. Tout cela est une question de préférence et de goût et les choix sont multiples. Le mien s’est arrêté sur une BMW R1200GS Aventure. Petit historique du pourquoi de cette décision…

En 2007, j’ai acheté une R1200GS.

Ma première moto d'aventure, une BMW R1200GS 2007
Ma première moto d’aventure, une BMW R1200GS 2007

Cet année là, j’ai parcouru 20000km et j’ai adoré mon expérience mais certaines lacunes observées m’ont poussé à me tourner vers le modèle Adventure de la même série, qui offrait les avantages suivants:

  • Augmentation substantielle de l’autonomie grâce à un réservoir permettant de faire 600 km
  • Transmission Enduro pour une conduite plus facile hors route ou quand la moto est chargée de lourds bagages avec une 1re vitesse plus courte
  • Meilleure protection avant avec un pare-brise plus grand
  • Meilleure protection des jambes contre le vent via un réservoir à essence plus gros
  • Suspension électronique permettant des ajustements de conduite pour les diverses conditions routière, tel les routes cahoteuses, le hors-route ou avec passager et bagages
  • Un système électrique plus puissant pour les accessoires tels une veste chauffante, gants chauffants, GPS, recharge de cellulaire
  • Position de conduite plus haute, un avantage dans les sentiers ou les routes accidentées
  • Valise de rangement en métal (plus solide, plus d’espace, plus sécuritaire)
  • Meilleur éclairage (phares d’appoint)
  • Prises électriques pour accessoires
  • Roues à rayons (plus solide)

En 2008, je me suis donc procuré une R1200GS mais cette fois, version Aventure.  J’ai parcouru le Canada et me suis rendu à Inuvik, au nord cercle polaire canadien. (Lien pour le blogue de ce voyage)

Dempster Highway en 2008
Dempster Highway en 2008

Voici ce que j’ai retenu de positif de cette aventure:

Les points forts de ma préparation :

  • GPS : obligatoire! Et le modèle choisi (GARMIN Zumo 550) fut parfait. Oui je sais, certains diront que les bonnes vieilles cartes font l’affaire, mais pour ma part, je n’ai pas de temps à perdre à me perdre. Il y a tant de choses intéressantes à voir que je n’ai pas une ou deux heures à perdre chaque jour pour trouver une adresse ou simplement un motel. C’est un outil que j’utilise au maximum et bien que la situation sera différente (cartographie moins bonne)en Amérique Centrale et du Sud, j’ai l’intention d’utiliser cet outil au maximum
  • Support GPS Touratech verrouillable : permet une tranquillité d’esprit quand on quitte la moto quelques minutes et la solidité nécessaire pour affronter les routes ou sentiers en mauvais état
  • Veste chauffante Widder avec manches : Je ne pourrais m’imaginer faire un voyage de moto sans cette pièce d’équipement, aussi simple que cela! L’avantage de la Widder fut la solidité de sa connexion et le gradateur qui offre la possibilité d’ajustements précis de la température souhaitée (j’ai maintenant le modèle de marque Powerlet, permettant l’ajout de gants).
  • Suspension électronique ASC: Cette option offerte sur les nouvelles GS procure réellement de nets avantages lors de la conduite hors route et surtout, avec un engin chargé lourdement
  • Throttle Lock: Même si ce n’est pas un régulateur de vitesse comme tel, ce petit mécanisme permet de bloquer la poignée de l’accélérateur et de reposer le bras de temps en temps. De plus, il permet de manipuler des choses de la main droite (fermeture éclair, casque, bouffe…) ce qui est un grand avantage. Je ne pourrais imaginer un tel voyage sans cet équipement!
  • Changement de pneu, mécanique de base: Le fait d’avoir pratiqué les changements de pneus et d’avoir fait un démontage sommaire de la moto avant de quitter sécurise et prépare aux problèmes éventuels.

Les points faibles à travailler ou à modifier:

  • Gants BMW AllRound: Ces gants de cuirs font le travail dans 95% des types de conduites, mais n’offrent pas suffisamment de protection contre le froid et la pluie. Je porte maintenant des gants chauffants et une coquille imperméable Art’ericx en cas de froid ou d’intempéries ainsi qu’une paire de gants GS de BMW pour les journées chaudes
  • Sac de couchage: j’ai tenté de sauver de l’espace et mon sac de couchage +7, bien qu’ultra compact, à rendu la majorité de mes nuits inconfortables. Il faut malheureusement prévoir un sac de type -7 pour ce genre de voyage avec comme conséquence, une légère augmentation du volume de bagages
  • Système de transport de bagage: Ma stratégie était fort simple : rien ne dois être libre, non verrouillé sur la moto à part ma glacière sans valeur. Cela ne fut simplement pas possible. La solution est d’ajouter un sac de transport de type Dry bag et de le verrouiller avec un filet Packsafe
  • Éclairage: Les phares de série de la GS ne sont pas suffisants pour conduire confortablement la nuit, même avec les phares antibrouillards qui aident. Franchement, c’est peu sécuritaire. J’ai modifié mon système au HID
  • Siège: Le siège d’origine de ma BMW R1200 GS Adventure est ferme, solide et confortable pour plusieurs situations, mais n’est pas conçu pour de longues journées de conduite et fût certainement un des points le plus négatifs du voyage. Malgré l’ajout d’un coussin Airhawk 2, la douleur apparaissait rapidement et devenait relativement importante. J’ai fait l’acquisition d’une selle Sargent, toute une différence!
  • Casque: J’ai utilisé un casque Nolan N102 pour 2 raisons. La première est qu’il est modulaire, permettant de relever toute la partie avant pour avoir le visage dans le vent! Pour moi, c’est prioritaire! Cela me procure un effet de liberté, mais surtout, rend les journées chaudes beaucoup plus agréables, sans compter que cela permet de communiquer (poste d’essence, douanes et autres) sans avoir à enlever le casque. Deuxièmement, le Nolan permet l’installation facile d’un système de communication (téléphone cellulaire, musique, passager). Toutefois, je dois avouer que cette raison est la seule qui fait que je possède toujours ce casque, car fondamentalement, je le déteste, car beaucoup trop lourd, très bruyant (vent), son (musique) moyen, surtout en mode, étanchéité minable (la pluie entre dans mon casque même quand complètement fermé, très fragile (visière, pièces amovibles sur le casque qui partent au vent). Les connecteurs doivent être manipulés avec soin, car les soudures internes se brisent facilement (2 changements sous garantie), coûteux (avec les accessoires, près de 1000$!!!). Quand on manipule le casque, il est évident qu’il n’est pas solide, car il craque, est peu rigide et les pièces s’enlèvent facilement. Pour un voyage en Amérique du Sud par exemple, ce n’est pas une option. Je me suis tourné vers le casque BMW System 6 que j’adore!

Ces nombreux changements ont été testés en 2011 lors d’autres longs voyages (Labrador, Terre-Neuve, Ouest Américain) ainsi que d’autres plus court, mais hors des sentiers battus au Vermont. Rien n’est parfait mais je suis à l’aise avec mon équipement et j’ai confiance que le ma préparation sera efficace pour un voyage en Amérique du Sud. Les expériences lors de ces voyages sont et seront essentielles au présent périple. Je ne partirais pas aujourd’hui sans celles-ci.

En 2010, la moto avait déjà plus de 130000 km donc je me suis résolu à la vendre et faire l’acquisition du modèle identique, version 2010, afin de me rendre en Amérique du Sud (voyage initialement prévu en 2012 ou 2013). C’est donc sur cette moto que je ferai mon périple en 2016. Elle a maintenant 53000 km au compteur et est en très bon état.

Mon nouveau jouet!
Mon nouveau jouet!

 

La préparation de cette aventure se fait donc en 6 étapes:

  1. Achat initial de la motocyclette
  2. Pratique, pratique, pratique
  3. Ajustements et tests
  4. Liste des différents équipements et items à apporter
  5. Documentation, photos et disposition sur la moto des baggages (un autre volet important)
  6. Entretien mécanique de la moto avant le départ

Les 3 derniers points sont divisés en 12 catégories:

  1. Accessoires pour la moto
  2. Volet médical, santé, assurances
  3. Outils
  4. Fournitures d’entretien
  5. Équipement de protection pour la conduite
  6. Équipement de camping et de randonnée
  7. Vêtements
  8. Équipements électroniques
  9. Documents, cartes (GPS/Papier), itinéraire, budget

Les prochains articles porteront sur chacune de ces étapes.

Article Suivant (Récent) ⇨
Route du Nord, Québec

Préparation - Équipement pour la moto (farkle!)

Farkle (également orthographié "farkel") est un terme commun chez les motocyclistes d'aventure. Les amateurs «FARKLE UP» leurs motos avec des accessoires tels que les détecteurs de radar, GPS, grand pare-brise, des stabilisateurs de direction, des morceaux de fibre de carbone, des sièges de rechange, etc. La BMWR1200GSA est livrée de ... Read more

⇦ Article Précédent (Ancien)
A great and almost isolated road near La Rioja, Argentina

Pourquoi donc un tel voyage?

Quand je partage de mon plan de voyage avec mes amis, j'ai toute sorte de réactions, mais elles se résument par cet exemple: « Quoi, tu pars 6 semaines en Argentine, c'est incroyable! ». Je leur réponds tout doucement: « Non, non, pas je n'ai pas dit 6 semaines, je quitte pour 6 mois, ... Read more


Marc Ouellet

Aventurier dans l'âme. En route vers l'Amérique du Sud sur 2 roues bientôt!

2 Commentaires
  • Chris Cheston
    Répondre

    We like the flip flop biker ‘boots’ Marc.
    Chris.

    1. Marc Ouellet
      Répondre

      Live free or die! Seriously, I would never ride in flip flops!

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

*

code

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial