Day 4 and 5 – Mexico! The Real Adventure Begins!

2016-09-15 – Day 4 – Austin, TX to Santiago, NL (690 km – 9:00 hrs)
2016-09-16 – Day 5 – Santiago, NL to Linares, NL (130 km – 2:45 hrs)

Can you believe that I’m riding my motorcycle in Mexico!

I left Austin around 6:00 AM Tuesday morning to avoid traffic. I had decided a while ago to cross the border in the Laredo area. I listened to the advice of people who did so quite easily at the Laredo-Columbia Solidarity point and that’s where I went.

Note Road 255, which branches off to this entry point is not free ($ 4.00), but the problem is that you need to make an electronic payment. Obviously I do not have the necessary chip so I have to stop on the side of the road and make a call to create an account in order not to receive a fine.

Arriving at the border, I welcomed by 2 super nice customs agents that help me stick the import permit that I had previously purchased online and tell me where to get and pay the tourist permit (28 US $).

2016-09-15-mexico-santiago-06

15 minutes later, I landed on another planet! Although I have driven in Latin America, the contrast is striking and I had never done it on two wheels!

The first kilometres are on a deserted road that later joins the highway. This is not a highway as such, because there are houses, people dogs present, but the hundreds of trucks travel at 130 km/h even if the posted limit is 80 km/h. It’s amazing, there are people walking on the road, sometimes without the shoulder, and trucks and cars pass them just a few feet away, but nobody stumbles!

Everything looks and finally is normal!

I had initially planned to spend the night in Saltillo, but I’ve changed my mind, because I wanted a quiet evening in a picturesque village.

So I decided to go relax in a Pueblo Magicos (local name) named Santiago, in the province of Nuevo León.

I first decided not to stay on the highway to avoid tolls, and take the local road that passes through the villages. Very good decision! This allows me to immerse myself quickly to the local culture and also to slow down a bit.

But in life, all good things come to an end.

Unfortunately, between this beautiful country road and Santiago, there is a small Mexican town of a few million people named Monterrey.

Let’s just say I have not needed my running shoes for sports! At twenty kilometres before the town, the road gradually changes to become a battlefield with the sole objective for everybody to arrive first who knows where! I wish I could have filmed those moments because it’s a little hard for me to describe them adequately.

Lesson one: 3 lanes does not necessarily mean, though, 3 lanes! I’m passed on the right by trucks travelling halfway into my lane and the shoulder, then on the left by old cars filled with Mexicans, there are also buses stopped in the right lane that we must avoid, pedestrians crossing, cars trying to cross at intersections without traffic lights and that, while travelling at 100 km / h in a 50 zone!

Fortunately, I’m from Montreal so I used some of these situations, but here everything is multiplied by 10!

The city is huge and from what I can see the road, full of contrasts. There is a modern train on top of the road, accompanied by improvised and dirty shops. Large modern shopping centres are present at one time and a hundred metres further, hundreds of small shops that sell who knows what, line up one after the other for miles!

Quite an experience. The good news is that I got out alive!

An hour later, I arrived in the village of Santiago, which is located a few hundred metres high, west of the main road. The place is quiet and the main square is charming. I go to the hotel to learn that everything is full, because it is Independence Day and that there is a big fiesta planned for tonight! Oh no. What do I do? I’m exhausted, I do not want to continue to drive, it’s hot and I have no plan B … so I ask my friend the GPS to see if there are other places to sleep. There is another hotel that I called immediately. Ouf, I speak a little Spanish, but hey, perhaps it’s because this is not the Argentine accent, but I understand nothing!

So I decided to drive there. Nothing is available either except a dorm bed for $15! Ouch, I’m not too keen on the dorms. Well, no choice, I buy! The good news is that I quickly realize I’m alone!

2016-09-15-mexico-santiago-09

The lady also let me park my bike in the small workshop, so everything is secure and I can go take a quick walk in the village.

2016-09-15-mexico-santiago-08

It slowly fills with people and surely around 9:00 PM, the place is crowded with happy Mexicans waiting to party!

2016-09-15-mexico-santiago-35

2016-09-15-mexico-santiago-34

2016-09-15-mexico-santiago-29

2016-09-15-mexico-santiago-22

2016-09-15-mexico-santiago-21

2016-09-15-mexico-santiago-57

2016-09-15-mexico-santiago-62

I come back to the hotel relatively early and despite the noise of the people partying, music and a quite a major thunderstorm, I sleep like a baby.

I left the next day to Linares. My original plan was to go to Real de Catorce, but as it is a holiday weekend, nothing available to sleep. I’ll delay my plans and go Sunday.

I hit the road around 10:00 AM after having a beautiful parade with musicians and horses, and decided to make a detour from the highway via a pueblo called San Miguel. No idea why, but there was my favourites in Google Map (probably added while reading a blog somewhere).

2016-09-16-santiago-04

The road is in poor condition, sometimes gravel, sometimes flooded. I would have liked to take pictures, but not quite comfortable with the GoPro yet!

The bike is heavy, and because I almost drove straight at 130 km/h for the last 4000 km, I have to adapt quickly! But it was pleasant and the expression of passersby and residents, adult and children, to see me on my metal horse pass by was worth it!

I get to Linares at 13:00 and am greeted by the local committee! Started looking for a hotel. After 2 or 3 visits, I decided to go to Guidi, which offers secure parking and a relatively clean room for 40$.

2016-09-16-linares-02

I spend the afternoon wandering the streets taking pictures and to find terminals as my SPOT tracker stopped working and I have to redo the connections.

2016-09-16-linares-22

2016-09-16-linares-14

2016-09-16-linares-08

I had dinner in a small empty restaurant, but the owner is super friendly and even let me bring my own beer. A nice burger, fries and two beers for 3.50$!

Next Article (Recent) ⇨

Day 6, 7 and 8 - Mexico - The First Challenges

2016-09-17 - Day 6 - Linares, NL to Galeana, NL  (70 km - 1:30 hrs) 2016-09-18 - Day 7 - Galeana, NL to Real de Catorce, SL (241 km - 6:30 hrs) 2016-09-19 - Day 8 - Real de Catorce, SL It's amazing how quickly I have to write down everything down as I want to ... Read more

⇦ Previous Article (Older)

Day 1, 2 and 3 - United States

2016 -09-12 - Day 1 - Montreal to Louisville, KY (1486 km - 16:00 hrs) 2016-09-13 - Day 2 - Louisville, KY to Austin, TX (1640 km - 16:00 hrs) 2016-09-14 - Day 3 - Austin, TX Finally, time to hit the road! After all these months (read: years) of preparation, ... Read more


Marc Ouellet

Adventurer at heart. Travelling on 2 wheels to South America soon!

6 COMMENTS
  • Sacha
    Reply

    Super cool le site et tes photos sont excellentes!

    Pour ma part je reviens d’un petit trois jour en GS au Mont Washington. Histoir de voir comment elle se comporte la vielle;)

    J’ai fait réparer ma fuite d’huile côté béquille latéral (une shop spécialisés en soudure à reussi l’opération et a sauvé mon moteur). Je n’utise presque pkus mon K1300r.

    Zulfiya et moi avont bien aimé notre escapade et somme prêts pour de plus serieuse avanture.

    Bien hâte de te voir a ton retour…me semble que ça fait trop longtemps. Et bonne route!

    1. Marc Ouellet
      Reply

      Salut le pilote!

      Tu n’utilises plus ton 1300 faute de temps?

      Ride en GS au NH en septembre, difficile à battre si la météo est comme présentement!

      Gardons contact et on se raconte nos aventures à mon retour sans faute!!!

  • Chris Cheston
    Reply

    Hi Marc, Other than the usual obstacles on the road that you have already discovered, watch out at night if riding in the dark for trucks and semi’s with no rear tail lights and no brake lights! The fronts of these trucks are generally lit up like a Christmas tree but they don’t seem to care about behind them. Just an observation while driving in Panama! Enjoy but think twice before riding at night Mate.

    1. Marc Ouellet
      Reply

      Hi Chris

      One of the first rule about travelling on 2 wheels in Central and South America is to NEVER, NEVER, NEVER, or at least, do all you can to avoid driving at night! I’ll do my best to respect this one!

      Thanks for the tip!

  • Chantal Cournoyer
    Reply

    Salut Marc. Contente de voir que tout va bien et que ça s’est bien déroulé aux douanes. Maintenant, tu n’as plus qu’à apprécier les paysages et les gens. Viva Mexico !

    1. Marc Ouellet
      Reply

      Merci Chantal! Effectivement, c’est un pays à découvrir, plein de contrastes et de bonnes personnes!

      Au plaisir! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

code

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial

Jour 4 et 5 – Mexico! L’Aventure Commence!

2016-09-15 – Jour 4 – Austin, TX à Santiago, NL (690 km – 9:00 hrs)
2016-09-16 – Jour 5 – Santiago, NL à Linares, NL (130 km – 2:45 hrs)

Pouvez-vous croire que je me suis rendu en moto au Mexique!

J’ai quitté Austin mardi matin vers 6:00 afin d’éviter le trafic. Il y a un bout que j’avais décidé de traverser la frontière dans la région de Laredo. J’ai écouté les conseils de gens qui ont passé facilement au poste de Laredo-Columbia Solidarity et c’est ce que j’ai fait.

À noter, la route 255 qui bifurque vers ce point d’entrée est payante (4.00$), mais le problème est qu’il faut effectuer un paiement électronique. Évidemment, je n’ai pas la puce nécessaire donc je dois arrêter sur le bord de la route et appeler pour créer un compte afin de ne pas recevoir d’amande.

Arrivé aux lignes, je suis simplement accueillie par 2 douaniers super sympas qui m’aide à coller le permis d’importation que j’avais déjà acheté en ligne et m’indique l’endroit où obtenir et payer le permis de touriste (28 US$).

2016-09-15-mexico-santiago-06

15 minutes plus tard, j’atterris sur une autre planète! Même si j’ai déjà conduit en Amérique latine, le contraste est frappant et je ne l’avais jamais fait sur 2 roues!

Les premiers kilomètres sont sur une route déserte qui se joint à la route nationale. Ce n’est pas une autoroute comme telle, car il y a des maisons, des gens des chiens, mais les centaines de camions roulent à 130 km/h même si la limite affichée est de 80 km/h. C’est incroyable, des gens marches sur le bord, parfois sans accotement, et les camions et voitures les doubles a quelques centimètres, mais personne ne bronche!

Tout semble et finalement, est normal!

J’avais d’abord envisagé aller passer la nuit à Saltillo, mais j’ai changé d’avis, car je voulais une soirée tranquille dans un village plus pittoresque.

J’ai donc décidé d’aller relaxer dans un Pueblo Magicos (appellation locale) nommé Santiago, dans la province de Nuevo León.

Comme la vie me semble rapidement simple au Mexique. Je décide d’abord de ne pas rester sur l’autoroute qui est payante, mais de prendre la route locale qui passe à travers les villages. Très bonne décision! Cela me permet de m’imprégner plus rapidement de la culture locale et aussi, de ralentir la cadence un peu.

Mais dans la vie, toute bonne chose à une fin.

Malheureusement, entre cette belle petite route de campagne et Santiago, il y a une petite ville mexicaine de quelques millions d’habitants nommée Monterrey.

Disons juste que je n’ai pas eu besoin de mes souliers de course pour faire du sport! À une vingtaine de kilomètres avant la ville, la route change graduellement pour devenir un champ de bataille sans aucun règlement avec comme seul objectif, arriver le premier! J’aurais aimé pouvoir filmer ces moments, car c’est un peu difficile pour moi de les décrire adéquatement.

Première leçon, 3 voies ne veulent pas nécessairement dire, bien, 3 voies! Je me fais dépasser la la droite par des camions qui roulent à moitié dans ma voir et le terre-plein, ensuite par la gauche par des vielles voitures remplies de supers Mexicains, il y a aussi des autobus arrêtés dans la voie de droite que l’on doit éviter, des piétons qui traversent, des autos qui tentent de traverser aux intersections sans feux de circulation et cela, tout en roulant à 100 km/h dans une zone de 50!

Heureusement, je viens de Montréal donc j’ai une certaine habitude de ce genre de situations, mais ici, le tout est multiplié par 10!

La ville est énorme et, de ce que je peux voir de la route, plein de contrastes. Un train sur rail surplombant la route est accompagné de commerces improvisés et malpropres. De gros centres commerciaux modernes sont présents à un moment et à l’autre, des centaines de petits magasins de je ne sais pas trop quoi s’alignent les uns après les autres à perte de vue.

Toute une expérience. La bonne nouvelle est que je m’en suis sorti vivant!

Une heure plus tard, j’arrivais dans le village de Santiago, qui est perché à quelques centaines de mètres à l’ouest de la route principale. L’endroit est tranquille et la place principale est charmante. Je me rends à l’hôtel qui s’y trouve pour me faire dire que tout est plein, car c’est la fête de l’indépendance et i, y a une grosse fiesta ce soir! Oh non. Que fais-je? Je suis épuisé, je ne veux pas continuer à conduire, car il fait ultra chaud et je n’ai pas d’option B… Je me rabats donc sur mon ami le GPS afin de voir s’il y a d’autres endroits pour dormir. Il y a un autre hôtel que j’appelle immédiatement. Ouf, je parle une peu espagnol, mais bon, possiblement que c’est parce que ce n’est pas l’accent argentin, mais je ne comprends rien!

Je décidé donc de me rendre. Rien de libre non plus sauf un lit en dortoir pour 15$! Ouch, je ne suis pas trop fort sur les dortoirs. Bon, pas le choix, j’achète! La bonne nouvelle est que je me rends rapidement compte que je suis seul!

2016-09-15-mexico-santiago-09

La demoiselle me laisse aussi entrer ma moto dans l’atelier donc tout est sécurisé pour que je puisse aller prendre une petite marche dans le village.

2016-09-15-mexico-santiago-08

Celui-ci se remplis tranquillement, mais sûrement et vers les 21:00, l’endroit est bondé d’heureux Mexicains quine demande qu’à faire la fête!

2016-09-15-mexico-santiago-35

2016-09-15-mexico-santiago-34

2016-09-15-mexico-santiago-29

2016-09-15-mexico-santiago-22

2016-09-15-mexico-santiago-21

2016-09-15-mexico-santiago-57

2016-09-15-mexico-santiago-62

Je reviens relativement tôt à l’hôtel et malgré le bruit des fêtards, la musique et un orage digne de mention, je dors comme un bébé.

Je quitte le lendemain vers Linares. Mon plan était d’aller à Real de Catorce, mais comme c’est week-end de fête, rien de libre pour dormir. Je vais donc retarder mes plans et y aller dimanche.

Je quitte vers 10:00 après avoir eu comme spectacle une belle parade avec des musiciens et des chevaux et décidé de faire un petit détour en campagne en passant par un pueblo du nom de San Miguel. Aucune idée pourquoi, mais il y avait un favoris dans Google Map que j’avais ajoutés qui sais quand en lisant un blogue.

2016-09-16-santiago-04

La route est en piteux état, parfois un gravier, parfois inondée. J’aurais aimé prendre dans images, mais pas encore assez à l’aise avec la GoPro!

La moto est évidemment lourde est comme j’ai quasiment conduit en ligne droite à 130 km/h pour les derniers 4000 km, je dois m’adapter rapidement! Mais ce fut plaisant et l’expression des passants et résidents, enfant comme adulte, de me voir sur mon cheval de métal en valait la peine!

J’arrive à Linares à 13:00 et suis accueilli par le comité local! Je me cherche un hôtel. Après 2 ou 3 visites, je décidé d’aller au Guidi, qui offre un grand stationnement et une belle chambre relativement propre!

2016-09-16-linares-02

Je passe l’après-midi à errer dans les rues afin de prendre quelques photos et trouver des terminaux car l’alimentation de mon SPOT tracker ne fonctionne plus et je dois refaire les connections.

2016-09-16-linares-22

2016-09-16-linares-14

2016-09-16-linares-08

Je soupe dans un petit resto vide, mais dont le propriétaire est super sympa et me laisse même apporter ma bière. Un beau burger, frites maison et 2 bières pour 3,50$!

Article Suivant (Récent) ⇨

Jour 6, 7 et 8 - Mexico - Les Premièrs Défis

2016-09-17 - Jour 6 - Linares, NL à Galeana, NL  (70 km - 1:30 hrs) 2016-09-18 - Jour 7 - Galeana, NL à Real de Catorce, SL (241 km - 6:30 hrs) 2016-09-19 - Jour 8 - Real de Catorce, SL C’est incroyable comment je dois faire rapidement pour écrire tout ... Read more

⇦ Article Précédent (Ancien)

Jour 1, 2 et 3 - États-Unis

2016-09-12 au 2016-09-14 2016-09-12 - Jour 1 - Montreal à Louisville, KY (1486 km - 16:00 hrs) 2016-09-13 - Jour 2 - Louisville, KY à Austin, TX (1640 km - 16:00 hrs) 2016-09-14 - Jour 3 - Austin, TX Enfin sur la route! Après tous ces mois (lire: années!) de préparation, ... Read more


Marc Ouellet

Aventurier dans l'âme. En route vers l'Amérique du Sud sur 2 roues bientôt!

6 Commentaires
  • Sacha
    Répondre

    Super cool le site et tes photos sont excellentes!

    Pour ma part je reviens d’un petit trois jour en GS au Mont Washington. Histoir de voir comment elle se comporte la vielle;)

    J’ai fait réparer ma fuite d’huile côté béquille latéral (une shop spécialisés en soudure à reussi l’opération et a sauvé mon moteur). Je n’utise presque pkus mon K1300r.

    Zulfiya et moi avont bien aimé notre escapade et somme prêts pour de plus serieuse avanture.

    Bien hâte de te voir a ton retour…me semble que ça fait trop longtemps. Et bonne route!

    1. Marc Ouellet
      Répondre

      Salut le pilote!

      Tu n’utilises plus ton 1300 faute de temps?

      Ride en GS au NH en septembre, difficile à battre si la météo est comme présentement!

      Gardons contact et on se raconte nos aventures à mon retour sans faute!!!

  • Chris Cheston
    Répondre

    Hi Marc, Other than the usual obstacles on the road that you have already discovered, watch out at night if riding in the dark for trucks and semi’s with no rear tail lights and no brake lights! The fronts of these trucks are generally lit up like a Christmas tree but they don’t seem to care about behind them. Just an observation while driving in Panama! Enjoy but think twice before riding at night Mate.

    1. Marc Ouellet
      Répondre

      Hi Chris

      One of the first rule about travelling on 2 wheels in Central and South America is to NEVER, NEVER, NEVER, or at least, do all you can to avoid driving at night! I’ll do my best to respect this one!

      Thanks for the tip!

  • Chantal Cournoyer
    Répondre

    Salut Marc. Contente de voir que tout va bien et que ça s’est bien déroulé aux douanes. Maintenant, tu n’as plus qu’à apprécier les paysages et les gens. Viva Mexico !

    1. Marc Ouellet
      Répondre

      Merci Chantal! Effectivement, c’est un pays à découvrir, plein de contrastes et de bonnes personnes!

      Au plaisir! 🙂

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

*

code

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial