Travel documentation

Preparation – Documentation, GPS maps, Itinerary and Budget

Only 3 days before the big start so I’ll try to cover documentation, maps (paper and GPS), my itinerary and budget in one post.

Let’s start with documents.

It is well known that the border crossings in Central America are saying, complex and several photocopies of documents such as passports, driving licence, registration. I’ll keep copies of those documents available.

I imported in advance my vehicle online for in Mexico to simplify the border crossing.

Website to import vehicles:

www.banjercito.com.mx/registro-vehiculos/

Note that it must also get a pre-authorization via this website:

www.inm.gob.mx/sae/publico/en/pre-autorizacion.html

The cost is about US $ 75 plus a US $ 500 deposit, refundable when you exit of the country..

The procedure is relatively easy, but it must be made up to 10 working days before the date of entry in the country.

Regarding insurance for my bike, there are several sites offering a multitude of plans. You can choose third party liability get full coverage. Prices vary slightly from one company to the other. I chose this one:

www.mexinsurance.com/coverage/

Their website provided easy navigation and their reputation is solid among North American travellers. I’ll stay in Mexico for about 30 days, but I still took the six months plan because the price was very similar. Moreover, in case of trouble, I’ll be able to stay longer or just to spend my winter there if I fall in love with the place!

I also made the reciprocity tax payment process for Argentina before online to simplify the process and have less cash to carry.

https://dnm.provincianet.com.ar/

In terms of wallet, my credit cards, banking, driving licence, registration, I tried to play it safe. It is an open secret, law enforcement authorities in some countries can sometimes have some small problems with integrity. So I planned to provide only copies of my documents at first contact and keep the dialogue as limited as possible.

If they ask me the original, here is my plan.

I have organized my things to have 3 separate identical wallets hidden in 3 different places on the bike. If I have to provide my original driver’s licence and the officer asks me a sum of money to get it back, he can simply keep it as a souvenir because it is out of the question that I play this game.

This will also allow me to have peace of mind in if I lose my wallet. Fortunately, the bank with which I do business allows the emission of 3 ATM cards so that’s good redundancy right there!

In terms of navigation and maps (GPS and paper), I have the chance to live in 2016 when the technology available makes it easy plan your route and find yourself if lost.

My navigation will be done with my Zumo 550 GPS via maps downloaded for free via the web, except for Canada, the US and Mexico that are covered through the original maps from Garmin.

In Central America, I use the card www.cenrut.org and for South America, www.proyectomapear.com.ar and www.perut.org.

For these regions, there are also excellent maps from OSM (http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl/). In fact, the two sources will be used, because it is not all roads that are present in the most remote areas.

As for my iPhone, it will also greatly put use thru Maps.me where you can download full maps of each country, and especially Google Maps, which now allows downloading areas in order to use it in without cellular signals.

Google Map POI
Google Map POI. Google Map POI. Each star represent a point of interest, as a city, a motel, a garage and so on.

As for paper maps, actually, I’m not a big fan of this type of support. I am aware that it is possible to have a better overview. Sometimes, certain areas are more detailed. I have a copy for the majority of countries that I’ll visit, but I’m still not sure to take them along because of the lack of space and motivation!

My itinerary is pretty simple. A month in Mexico, one in Central America, because I have to cross from Panama to Peru on 14 November, then a few weeks in Colombia, Ecuador, Peru, possibly Bolivia, but still uncertain, then quickly thru the northern part of Chile and Argentina to concentrate on Patagonian later in February, in order to be back in Buenos Aires in early March and have a full month there.

For several months, even years, I religiously consulted blogs of people who have made this journey. Here are some good examples I read from one end to another, sometimes twice!

www.southonabike.com

www.chantaletjean.blogspot.ca

www.lovinglivingadventuring.com

www.ridedot.com

www.motolara.com

www.placesbeyond.com

www.moto-treks.com

And, of course, websites such as:

www.advrider.com

www.horizonsunlimited.com

With these references, as well as using Lonely Planet and other travel publications, I have identified hundreds of points of interest in Google Maps that I can easily find to organize my itinerary along the way. Indeed, I wanted to not have the path or any bookings set in advance.

I want my mindset, my encounters, the weather and the desires to discover things to be what dictates the path that will lead me to Tierra del Fuego. And in fact, it’s important to mention that it is an objective, but not an obligation in itself. Maybe in a couple of months, I will find the adventure too difficult or not being what I expected. But precisely because I don’t have a rigid plan, I will keep this freedom.

Quick trick, it is possible to export all these Google Maps markers in order to import them in a Garmin GPS device via https://takeout.google.com/settings/takeout by selecting “Maps (your seats).”

Finally, the budget. There are 3 major obligatory expenses. Health and car insurance for Mexico ($ 1,000), the crossing between Panama and Colombia ($ 1700) and finally the return to Canada by air ($ 3500). So I have planned these expenses from the start.

As for the bike, the it was purchased in 2010 so absorbed since. And in fact, I believe that this is the perfect time to use it for such a trip, because its value is much lower now, so less of heavy losses in case of an accident or theft. It is still perfectly reliable because it only has 54000 km.

For my motorcycle equipment, camping, clothing, tools, I spent about $ 15,000 spread over several years.

On average, I hope to spend $ 85 maximum per day for gasoline, food and sleep. Obviously, there will be days that exceed this limit and others that will be lower, but while trying to do my best to keep my spending within this average, it is not an obsession. It’s still the trip of a lifetime and I do not want the financial aspect to come in and darken the journey.

I will produce financial resume at the end of the trip.

And that is what completes the many preparation steps! The trip is set to start on September 11th!

Next Article (Recent) ⇨

Day 1, 2 and 3 - United States

2016 -09-12 - Day 1 - Montreal to Louisville, KY (1486 km - 16:00 hrs) 2016-09-13 - Day 2 - Louisville, KY to Austin, TX (1640 km - 16:00 hrs) 2016-09-14 - Day 3 - Austin, TX Finally, time to hit the road! After all these months (read: years) of preparation, ... Read more

⇦ Previous Article (Older)
PEI trip on 2010

Preparation - Electronics

I do not deny it, I love electronic gadgets! My iPhone, camera, GPS and laptop will be essential tools for me on this trip. My ongoing challenge is to bring only what is absolutely necessary while making sure to have the tools needed to communicate, navigate, picture, save and share ... Read more


Marc Ouellet

Adventurer at heart. Travelling on 2 wheels to South America soon!

8 COMMENTS
  • Jean
    Reply

    Bon voyage! Looking forward to read your posts along the journey.

    1. Marc Ouellet
      Reply

      Merci Jean!

  • Rony
    Reply

    Have a good trip. i’m sure you’ll have blast!

    1. Marc Ouellet
      Reply

      Thanks!

  • michel beaumier
    Reply

    J’admire ton audace je te reconnais bien!! bon voyage et je te suivrai religieusemnent, paie toi la traite

    1. Marc Ouellet
      Reply

      Merci Michel, c’est super gentil! Au plaisir!

  • Louis-Philippe
    Reply

    Quel beau blog détaillé et intéressant! Je l’ai dévoré et se n’est que la partie “Préparation” 😮 J’ai déjà hâte de voir les aventures à venir… Good luck Marc et surtout profites de chaque instant(même les mauvais, ça fais de bonnes anecdotes

    1. Marc Ouellet
      Reply

      Salut cousin! Je vais faire de mon mieux pour te garder à l’écoute! Merci et à bientôt!

  • Mandila Jackson
    Reply

    Wow, thіs is rеally helpful ᴡork! Congrats аnd кeep it up.

  • christian
    Reply

    C’est vraiment super de lire tout ca en cette fin de semaine froide et pluvieuse par chez nous !! Profite de cette aventure – je suis heureux pour toi. Chacun son tour en attendant je te lis !!! Salud amigo

    1. Marc Ouellet
      Reply

      C’est très bien dit. Chacun son tour. Disons que j’ai attendu le miens pas mal longtemps! Merci de prendre le temps de lire ce blogue et de commenter!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

code

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial

Documents de voyage

Préparation – Documentation, Cartes GPS, Itinéraire et Budget

Seulement 3 jours avant le grand départ donc je vais couvrir la documentation, les cartes (Papier et GPS), mon itinéraire et le budget en une seule nouvelle.

Commençons par la paperasse!

Il est bien connu que les passages aux frontières en Amérique centrale sont disons, complexe et que plusieurs photocopies des documents tels le passeport, le permis de conduire, l’immatriculation. Je vais donc trainer quelques copies de ces documents disponibles.

J’ai planifié à l’avance l’importation de mon véhicule au Mexique en ligne afin de simplifier mon passage à la frontière.

Site pour faire la démarche:

www.banjercito.com.mx/registro-vehiculos/

À noter qu’il faut aussi faire une demande de préautorisation via ce site:

www.inm.gob.mx/sae/publico/en/pre-autorizacion.html

Le coût est d’environ 75$ US plus un dépôt remboursable à la sortie du pays de 500$ US.

La procédure est relativement facile, mais doit être faite au maximum 10 jours ouvrables avant la date d’entrée au pays.

Pour ce qui est des assurances pour ma moto, il existe plusieurs sites offrant une multitude de plans. Il est possible d’assurer uniquement la moto pour les dommages à autrui ou obtenir une couverture complète. Les prix varient légèrement d’une compagnie à l’autre. J’ai choisi celle-ci:

www.mexinsurance.com/coverage/

Leur site web est très bien fait et sa réputation est solide parmi les voyageurs nord-américains. Je vais rester au Mexique environ 30 jours, mais j’ai quand même pris 6 mois, car le tarif était très semblable. De plus, en cas de problème, je serai en mesure de rester plus longtemps ou simplement d’y passer mon hiver!

J’ai aussi fait la procédure de paiement de taxe de réciprocité pour l’Argentine avant de partir afin de simplifier le processus et avoir le moins d’argent liquide à trainer.

https://dnm.provincianet.com.ar/

Pour ce qui est de mon porte-monnaie, mes cartes de crédit, bancaires, permis de conduire, immatriculation, j’ai tenté de jouer de prudence. C’est un secret de polichinelle, les autorités policières de certains pays peuvent parfois avoir certains petits problèmes d’intégrité. J’ai donc planifié leur remettre uniquement des copies de mes documents lors du premier contact et garder le dialogue le plus limité possible.

Si on me demande les originaux, voici mon plan.

J’ai aussi organisé mes choses pour avoir 3 portes-monnaie avec tous les documents et cartes originales à 3 endroits différents sur la moto. Si je dois remettre mon permis et que le policier me demande d’une somme d’argent pour le ravoir, il pourra simplement le garder en souvenir, car il est hors de question que je joue à ce jeu.

Cela me permettra aussi d’avoir l’esprit tranquille en cas de perte. Heureusement, la banque avec qui je fais affaire permet l’émission de 3 cartes de guichet automatique donc la redondance y est!

Pour ce qui est de la navigation et des cartes (GPS et papier), j’ai la chance de partir en 2016 où la technologie disponible permet facilement de se retrouver et de planifier ses déplacements.

Ma navigation se fera à l’aide de mon GPS Zumo 550 via des cartes téléchargées gratuitement sur le Web, à part pour le Canada, les États-Unis et le Mexique qui sont couverts via la carte originale de Garmin.

Pour l’Amérique Centrale, j’utilise les cartes de www.cenrut.org et pour l’Amérique du Sud, www.proyectomapear.com.ar et www.perut.org.

Pour toutes ces régions, il existe aussi d’excellentes cartes de l’organisation OSM (http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl/). En fait, les 2 sources seront utilisées, car ce n’est pas toutes les routes qui sont présentes dans les régions plus éloignées.

Pour ce qui est de mon iPhone, il sera aussi grandement mis à contribution via les logiciels Maps.me qui permet de télécharger les cartes de tous les pays, et surtout Google Maps, qui permet maintenant de télécharger des régions afin de pouvoir les utiliser dans sans signal cellulaire.

Pour ce qui est des cartes papier, à vrai dire, je ne suis pas un grand amateur de ce type de support. Je suis conscient qu’il est possible d’avoir une meilleure vue d’ensemble, que parfois, certaines régions sont plus détaillées. J’ai un exemplaire pour la majorité des pays que je vais visiter, mais je ne suis pas encore certain de les apporter, faute d’espace et de motivation!

Mon itinéraire est plutôt simple. Un mois au Mexique, un autre en Amérique centrale, car je dois traverser du Panama au Peru le 14 novembre, ensuite quelques semaines en Colombie, en Équateur, au Pérou, possiblement la Bolivie, mais pas encore certain, ensuite rapidement la partie nord du Chili et de l’Argentine pour me concentrer sur la Patagonie au plus tard en février afin d’être de retour à Buenos Aires début mars et y passer un mois complet.

Depuis plusieurs mois, voir années, je consulte religieusement les blogues de gens qui ont fait ce périple. Voici quelques bons exemples que j’ai lus d’un bout à l’autre, parfois 2 fois!

www.southonabike.com

www.chantaletjean.blogspot.ca

www.lovinglivingadventuring.com

www.ridedot.com

www.motolara.com

www.placesbeyond.com

www.moto-treks.com

Et évidemment les site comme:

www.advrider.com

www.horizonsunlimited.com

Avec ces références, ainsi qu’à l’aide des Lonely Planet et autres publications de voyage, j’ai identifié des centaines de points d’intérêt dans Google Map que je pourrai retrouver facilement afin d’organiser mon itinéraire en cours de route. En effet, je de voulais pas avoir le chemin tracé d’avance, de réservations et par conséquent, d’obligations.

Google Map POI
Google Map POI. Chaque étoile représente un point d’intérêt comme une ville, un hotel, un garage et ainsi de suite.

Je veux que mon état d’esprit, mes rencontres, la météo et le désir de découvrir les choses soient ce qui dicte le chemin qui m’amènera jusqu’à la Terre de Feu. Et en fait, cela est un objectif, mais non une obligation en soi. Peut-être que dans 2 mois, je vais trouver l’aventure trop difficile et je réduirai mes attentes. Mais le fait justement de ne pas avoir de plan me permettra cette latitude quotidienne.

Petit truc, il est possible d’exporter tous ces points Google Maps afin de les importer mon GPS Garmin via la page https://takeout.google.com/settings/takeout en sélectionnant « Maps (your places) ».

Finalement, le budget. Il y a 3 grandes dépenses obligatoires. L’assurance maladie et pour mon véhicule au Mexique (1000$), la traversée entre le Panama et la Colombie (1700$) et finalement le retour au Canada en avion (3500$). J’ai donc planifié ces dépenses dès le début.

Pour ce qui est de la moto, la dépense fut faite en 2010 donc absorbées depuis. Et en fait, je considère que c’est le temps parfait pour l’utiliser à un tel voyage, car sa valeur est beaucoup moindre maintenant, donc une perte moins lourde en car d’accident ou de vol, et elle est encore parfaitement fiable, car seulement 54000 km au compteur. Je la connais parfaitement et j’ai confiance en elle et en mes capacités à bien la traiter pour nous amener jusqu’en Argentine!

Pour les équipements de moto, camping, vêtements, outils , j’ai dépensé environ 15000$ réparti sur plusieurs années.

En moyenne, j’espère dépenser 85$ maximum par jour pour l’essence, la nourriture et pour dormir. Évidemment, il y aura des journées qui dépasseront et d’autres qui seront plus basses, mais tout en tentant de faire de mon mieux pour respecter cette moyenne, je n’en ferai pas non plus une obsession. C’est quand même le voyage d’une vie et je ne veux pas que l’aspect financier vienne assombrir le périple.

Je ferai d’ailleurs un bilan financier à la fin du voyage.

Et voilà, c’est ce qui complète les nombreuses étapes de préparation! Départ le 11 septembre!

Article Suivant (Récent) ⇨

Jour 1, 2 et 3 - États-Unis

2016-09-12 au 2016-09-14 2016-09-12 - Jour 1 - Montreal à Louisville, KY (1486 km - 16:00 hrs) 2016-09-13 - Jour 2 - Louisville, KY à Austin, TX (1640 km - 16:00 hrs) 2016-09-14 - Jour 3 - Austin, TX Enfin sur la route! Après tous ces mois (lire: années!) de préparation, ... Read more

⇦ Article Précédent (Ancien)
PEI trip on 2010

Préparation - Électroniques

Je ne m'en cache pas, je suis un amateur de gadgets électroniques! iPhone, caméra, GPS, laptop seront des outils essentiels pour moi durant ce voyage. Le défi est d'apporter uniquement ce qui est absolument nécessaire tout en s'assurant d'avoir tout ce qui est nécessaire pour communiquer, s'orienter, photographier, sauvegarder et ... Read more


Marc Ouellet

Aventurier dans l'âme. En route vers l'Amérique du Sud sur 2 roues bientôt!

8 Commentaires
  • Jean
    Répondre

    Bon voyage! Looking forward to read your posts along the journey.

    1. Marc Ouellet
      Répondre

      Merci Jean!

  • Rony
    Répondre

    Have a good trip. i’m sure you’ll have blast!

    1. Marc Ouellet
      Répondre

      Thanks!

  • michel beaumier
    Répondre

    J’admire ton audace je te reconnais bien!! bon voyage et je te suivrai religieusemnent, paie toi la traite

    1. Marc Ouellet
      Répondre

      Merci Michel, c’est super gentil! Au plaisir!

  • Louis-Philippe
    Répondre

    Quel beau blog détaillé et intéressant! Je l’ai dévoré et se n’est que la partie « Préparation » 😮 J’ai déjà hâte de voir les aventures à venir… Good luck Marc et surtout profites de chaque instant(même les mauvais, ça fais de bonnes anecdotes

    1. Marc Ouellet
      Répondre

      Salut cousin! Je vais faire de mon mieux pour te garder à l’écoute! Merci et à bientôt!

  • Mandila Jackson
    Répondre

    Wow, thіs is rеally helpful ᴡork! Congrats аnd кeep it up.

  • christian
    Répondre

    C’est vraiment super de lire tout ca en cette fin de semaine froide et pluvieuse par chez nous !! Profite de cette aventure – je suis heureux pour toi. Chacun son tour en attendant je te lis !!! Salud amigo

    1. Marc Ouellet
      Répondre

      C’est très bien dit. Chacun son tour. Disons que j’ai attendu le miens pas mal longtemps! Merci de prendre le temps de lire ce blogue et de commenter!

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

*

code

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial