Day 48 to 53 – Colombia – Cartagena, Mompos and some Adrenaline on 2 Wheels!

2016-10-29 – Day 48 – Cartagena, CO
2016-10-30 – Day 49 – Cartagena, CO
2016-10-31 – Day 50 – Cartagena, CO
2016-11-01 – Day 51 – Cartagena, CO to Mompos, CO (314 km – 4:45 hrs)
2016-11-02 – Day 52 – Mompos, CO to Marguarita, CO, and return (51 km – 2:30 hrs)
2016-11-03 – Day 53 – Mompos, CO to Barichara, CO (477 km – 8:00 hrs)

Colombia was a nice surprise, although I had visited it a few years ago. I realize more and more the different perspective that travelling by motorcycle provides, and also the additional difficulty that is now, in this country filled with motorcycles, simply to make its place on the road so as to be able to survive a total madness on 2 wheels!

I had the privilege to be accompanied for the greatest part of my time in Colombia by my girlfriend who came to join me for 2 weeks. We crossed almost all the country together, from Cartagena, we went to Mompos, Villa de Leyva, crossed Mountains, drove in heavy rain, deep mud, saw all sorts of animals, got into infernal traffic, got to the big city of Medellín and ended our adventure in Cali.

Before her arrival, I was a little worried about adding weight to the bike, but ultimately, apart from moving slow in traffic jams, her presence behind me was almost unnoticeable. Her bag was about 8 kilos so she did a great job of limiting the amount of luggage she took along! The big GS is perfectly suited to sit a passenger and the power of its engine allowed me to do just about everything I did when I was alone. Obviously, we are talking about driving on the road and not on trails.

As you can see, I have not updated the site for a while. It’s a little harder to find time to write with company! I will do my best to catch up with lost time in the next few days.

Let’s start by Cartagena which has a superb old quarter, surrounded largely by a stone wall. The small streets intersect and offer perceptive and colours more beautiful one after the other.

Although very touristy, I enjoyed staying here for 3 days while waiting for the arrival of my passenger. As I wanted to have her stay in a comfortable, clean, quiet and friendly place, I kinda blew my budget and booked at Casa Bustamante Hotel Boutique, Cabrero Calle Real # 42-67 https://goo.Gl/maps/qqkzKWZdky12. So I took the opportunity to rest, relax at the pool and refuel for the next adventures.

2016-10-28-cartagena-66

I also walked a lot in the city, jogged in the Bocagrande area and even had dinner on the street! It is incredible the good beef and chicken offered everywhere by itinerant cooks just for 2 or 3 dollars. Accompanied by a (or couple) of good cold beer and the laughter of the children having fun around you is a good recipe for nice simple, pleasant and cheap evenings.

2016-10-28-cartagena-54

2016-10-28-cartagena-57

2016-10-29-cartagena-07

2016-10-29-cartagena-08

2016-10-29-cartagena-11

2016-10-29-cartagena-15

2016-10-29-cartagena-22

2016-10-29-cartagena-29

2016-10-29-cartagena-36

2016-10-29-cartagena-57

2016-10-29-cartagena-76

2016-10-29-cartagena-80

2016-10-30-cartagena-01

2016-10-30-cartagena-07

2016-10-30-cartagena-24

2016-10-30-cartagena-34

2016-10-31-cartagena-07

2016-10-31-cartagena-10

2016-10-29-cartagena-05

2016-10-29-cartagena-01

2016-10-28-cartagena-69

My girlfriend arrived very late on Sunday after a long day of travel so we waited until Monday morning for me to act as a tour guide and take her on a quick (but complete!) tour of the old town.

Look at how people are resourceful. No baseball field provided by the city, no problem, we will make one! Uniforms, referees, markers all the stuff for a real ball game!

2016-10-30-cartagena-44

2016-10-30-cartagena-48

On Tuesday, November 1st, we got on the bike and rode towards Mompos (also known as Mompox or San Cruz de Mompox).

This small town is popular with tourists, but getting there remains a challenge. For backpackers, you have to take several buses. For people on a motorcycle like us, we must take some roads not always easy to find, not very well maintained, and possibly a ferry.

Google Map points me to one place, my GPS to another and the maps.me application generates another route.

I took the time to visit the website of a motorcycle rental agency and contacted them because they are go to Mompos on one of their tours.

Motolombia – Motorcycle Tours and Rentals
# 48, Avenida 6 Norte # 48 Norte-48, Cali, Valle del Cauca, Colombia
+57 2 6659548

They were very nice to answer all my questions and suggested a suitable route for a big bike with 2 passengers and their luggage.

Getting out of Cartagena was fairly sporty! Hundreds of motorcycles, trucks, cars, bicycles and pedestrians stand in front you, or very close behind you and on each side of the bike, cutting you off without any discomfort, as if it were normal or safe. Obviously, it’s quite normal for them, but not for us and it is certainly not safe! But it’s crazy and at the same time, exciting and the adrenaline does its job to finally help us get out of town and engage on multiple country roads up to Mompos.

Roads 25 and 80 were quite bad because there is a lot of construction to make it from 2 to 4 lanes. There is also a lot more presence on the road than in Mexico or Central America, mostly big trucks. Once on the road to Santa Ana, we can finally relax and enjoy the scenery.

Despite everything, I have to admit that even though the first few minutes or driving were a little difficult, because I had to get used to driving with my new passenger, it was really nice to find myself behind the handlebars after almost a 10 days break!

Of the 3 routes offered by my various navigation tools, Google was the winner, because its maps took into account a new bridge that allowed us to cross the Brazo river of Mompos, which was a little relief because it would have had to put the motorcycle on a small craft boat, which was not too reassuring.

Mompos is relatively isolated and there is little automotive presence, but were invaded by hundreds of motorcycles right after our entrance into the streets of the city, just like mosquitoes in spring!

The streets lining the river are peaceful and there are beautiful series of old houses and well maintained. But this is not the case when leaving these tourist streets! There are so many motorcycles that it is difficult to cross intersections! You need eyes all round our heads!

2016-11-01-mompos-06

2016-11-01-mompos-08

2016-11-01-mompos-20

2016-11-01-mompos-23

2016-11-01-mompos-41

2016-11-01-mompos-49

The ferry I mentioned earlier! Phew, happy that the new bridge is built.

2016-11-02-mompos-003

We decided to stay in this village 2 nights, because a colleague adventurer had contacted me a few weeks ago via the site advrider.com to give me advises for the Colombian portion of my trip, and he also is in the country at the time of my passage so he took the opportunity to come to join us from Medellín with his spouse.

So I took tome to relax and go for a race on the small dirt road along the river. Even though I feel my physical shape slowly deteriorate since the beginning of the journey, it was once again a very pleasant outing that led me to quickly leave the village and jog in farmlands, surrounded on one side by the river, and the other by chickens, horses, cows of every possible colour, pigs of all sizes and beautiful verdure and tranquility well appreciated.

2016-11-02-mompos-007

I feel a little I’m being watched!

2016-11-02-mompos-012

Back at the hotel, I proposed to my girlfriend to get the panniers off the motorcycle and to return on this small road in order to appreciate the more rural region just outside the city.

She hesitated a little, but as soon as I showed her a small video of a herd of cows that I went by during my jog, she accepted! (She’s an animal lover!)

So we left off with a much lighter motorcycle in a warm and sunny morning.

The first kilometres were spectacular and relatively easy to cross, but after a few rudimentary and isolated villages, the road began to deteriorate. It was made up solely of dirt, which results, during the present rainy season, in many spots of deep mud.

In most cases, it is possible to pass by slowing down a bit and accelerating in order to lighten the front wheel, all without much effort. But the further we went, the deeper the mud and the accumulations of water became, so that my passenger had to get off the motorcycle a few times to facilitate the passage.

At one point, we passed a motorcycle stopped evaluating his options to get into one of the water holes. The very sympathetic driver warns us about a portion of the road a little further away where the sun cannot dry the road. His passenger, holding 2 live chickens by the legs, clearly on its way to a good fresh Pollo a la Plancha lunch, tells us that we should go back, but it is not so much an option, because had just passed a dozen difficult spots of mud and my GPS tells me that the branch to the main road is much closer than turning back.

So we take the risk and we embark on the adventure!

As a matter of fact, a few hundred metres away, a passage is covered by large leafy trees and the road is muddy, accompanied by some small lakes (!) that seem to me very deep. We take the time to observe a small 125 cc pitching on one side and the other in the deep mud to eventually venture across the 200 metres on the path that seemed to be the most stable. Obviously, my passenger crosses on foot.

I got a few curses in the intercom, because even on foot, it is difficult and a bit… dirty!

I set my ESA suspension at its lowest level in order to be able to place my feet on the ground if necessary, and makes sure that the traction control system is disengaged.

I then proceed slowly into the challenge that stands before me. Did I mention that the day was sunny and … hot!

I have to work very hard so the bike does not fall because it’s slippery, like driving on the ice. The rear wheel turns without much traction and I finally slip into a hole of water. I manage to get out and this repeats itself a few times until the bike decides to get across the road, the rear wheel into a deep hole and turning but not going forward.

I ask my partner to come and help me, because I am unable to move forward or backward. Need I tell you that it is for here, going back to where she came from, again in the mud she had just crossed in order to come to push a motorcycle splashing a nice sticky mud with the rear wheel. She was not too happy, to says the least.

Fortunately, a man also on a small motorcycle stopped and came to help us. After a few front-to-back movements, I managed to get out of the mud lake and get to the other side of this difficult passage, completely soaked by sweat, but terribly happy not to have fallen into this sticky mixture. My boots now weigh 2 kilos each, thanks to the mud that is now present on the soles, up to the edge of my pants. The motorcycle is also completely covered by a thick layer that gives it a trench soldier look.

2016-11-02-mompos-038

2016-11-02-mompos-050

2016-11-02-mompos-054

2016-11-02-mompos-056

2016-11-02-mompos-058

Even without luggage, a big GS in the mud is not ideal, and the clutch has made this clear to me, producing a not very pleasant overheating. The following kilometres were a little less difficult and much more pleasant.

We finally took 3 hours to travel the 50 km of this little improvised promenade. But it will remain engraved as a wonderful memory!

Small improvised washing session.

2016-11-02-mompos-091

In the early evening, my ADVRider contact arrived with his spouse and we took advantage of the beautiful evening to walk along the river and share a good meal filled with travel and motorcycle stories!

2016-11-02-mompos-092

2016-11-02-mompos-096

2016-11-01-mompos-51

2016-11-02-mompos-101

We leave early the next day for a quick visit of Barichara, a superb village perched in the mountains!

2016-11-03-barichara-01

Some sections of the road are still very wet and difficult to cross.

2016-11-03-barichara-05

2016-11-03-barichara-09

2016-11-04-villa-de-leyva-001

2016-11-04-villa-de-leyva-008

One thing well appreciated in Colombia, motorcycles do not have to stop (or pay!) at toll booths!

2016-11-04-villa-de-leyva-028

One thing also seems very obvious after the first few days of travelling the country: the mountains are largely present and it will take some a little longer than usual to get from one place to another.

Next Article (Recent) ⇨

Day 54 to 62 - Colombia - A Few More Cities and Final Thoughts

2016-11-04 - Day 54 - Barichara, CO to Villa de Leyva, CO (198 km - 3:40 hrs) 2016-11-05 - Day 55 - Villa de Leyva, CO to Medellín, CO (419 km - 8:40 hrs) 2016-11-06 - Day 56 - Medellín, CO 2016-11-07 - Day 57 - Medellín, CO to Jardin, ... Read more

⇦ Previous Article (Older)

Day 43 to 47 - The Stahlratte and the Crossing to Colombia

2016-10-24 - Day 43 - Puerto Carti, PA to El Porvenir, PA (4:15 hrs - 124 km) 2016-10-25 - Day 44 - El Porvenir, PA to San Blas Islas, PA (4:30 hrs - 44 km) 2016-10-26 - Day 45 - San Blas Islas, PA in Cartagena, Colombia 2016-10-27 - Day ... Read more


Marc Ouellet

Adventurer at heart. Travelling on 2 wheels to South America soon!

0 COMMENTS
  • Bruce
    Reply

    Salut Marc, Caro et moi seront en Colombie du 9 décembre au 7 janvier. Peut-être va ont se croiser ;-)?
    Excellente description de ton voyage et superbe photos. Bonne route pour la suite.

    1. Marc Ouellet
      Reply

      Merci Bruce!

      Malheureusement, la rencontre n’aura pas lieu car je suis déjà rendu en Équateur!!!

      Voyage organisé ou vous parcourez le pays par vous-même?

      1. Bruce
        Reply

        Une partie organisé car nous alors faire du trekking dans la jungle jusqu’à la Cuidad Perdida. Nous étions en Equateur en Octobre dernier et le pays est superbe. Si tu as le temps, une visite aux îles Galapagos vaux vraiment le déplacement mais un peu difficile en moto.
        Ciao

        1. Marc Ouellet
          Reply

          J’ai fait le trek il y a quelques années! J’avais réalisé un petit vidéo à l’époque: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RAIqFCeGbvE

          Enjoy!

  • chantal cournoyer
    Reply

    C’est le fun que Nadine soit allé te rejoindre ! Tu devais être content de savoir qu’elle y allait si tôt dans ton voyage !

    1. Marc Ouellet
      Reply

      Effectivement, sauf que maintenant je dois me ré-habituer à être seul!!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

code

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial

Jour 48 à 53 – Colombie – Cartagena, Mompos et de l’Adrénaline sur 2 Roues!

2016-10-29 – Jour 48 – Cartagena, CO
2016-10-30 – Jour 49 – Cartagena, CO
2016-10-31 – Jour 50 – Cartagena, CO
2016-11-01 – Jour 51 – Cartagena, CO à Mompos, CO (314 km – 4:45 hrs)
2016-11-02 – Jour 52 – Mompos, CO à Marguarita, CO, et retour (51 km – 2:30 hrs)
2016-11-03 – Jour 53 – Mompos, CO à Barichara, CO (477 km – 8:00 hrs)

La Colombie fut une belle surprise, même si je l’avais précédemment visité il y a quelques années. Je réalise de plus en plus la perspective différente qu’offre la possibilité de se déplacer en moto, et aussi la difficulté supplémentaire qui est, dans ce pays inondé de motos, de simplement faire sa place sur la route afin de pouvoir survivre à une totale folie sur 2 roues!

J’ai eu la chance d’être accompagné pour une grande partie de tournée de la Colombie par ma copine qui est venue me rejoindre pour 2 semaines. Nous avons traversé presque tout le pays ensemble. De Cartagena, nous avons passé par Mompos, Villa de Leyva, traversé des montagnes, conduit dans la pluie forte, passé par des routes boueuses, vu des animaux de toutes sortes , vécu du trafic infernal, visité la grande ville de Medellín et terminé le tout à Cali.

Avant son arrivée, j’étais un peu inquiet de l’ajout de poids sur la moto, mais finalement, à part dans le trafic lent des grandes villes, sa présence n’était presque pas notable. Son sac était d’environ 8 kilos donc elle a fait un super travail de limiter ses bagages! La grosse GS est parfaitement adaptée à recevoir une passagère et la puissance de son moteur m’a permis de faire à peu près tout ce que je fais quand je suis seul. Évidemment, on parle ici de conduite sur route et non en sentier.

Comme vous pouvez le constater, je n’ai pas fait de mise à jour depuis un bon moment. Il est un peu plus difficile de trouver le temps d’écrire avec de la compagnie! Je vais faire de mon mieux pour rattraper le temps perdu dans les prochains jours.

Débutons donc par Cartagena qui possède un superbe vieux quartier, entourée en grande partie par une muraille de pierre. Les petites rues s’entrecroisent et offrent des perceptives et des couleurs plus belles les unes après les autres.

Bien que très touristique, j’ai apprécié y passer 3 jours en attendant l’arrivée de ma passagère. Comme je voulais l’accueillir dans un endroit confortable, propre, tranquille et chaleureux, j’ai un peu fait exploser mon budget et réservé à l’hôtel Casa Bustamante Hotel Boutique, Cabrero Calle Real # 42-67. J’en ai donc aussi profité pour me reposer, relaxer sur le bord de la piscine et refaire le plein pour les étapes à venir.

2016-10-28-cartagena-66

J’ai aussi beaucoup marché dans la ville, joggé dans le quartier Bocagrande et même pris le dîner dans la rue! C’est incroyable les bonnes brochettes de boeuf et de poulet offerte un peu partout par des cuisiniers ambulants pour 2 ou 3 dollars. Accompagné d’une (ou deux ou…!) bonne bière froide et les rires des enfants s’amusant autour, cela est une bonne recette pour de belles soirées simples et plaisantes.

2016-10-28-cartagena-54

2016-10-28-cartagena-57

2016-10-29-cartagena-07

2016-10-29-cartagena-08

2016-10-29-cartagena-11

2016-10-29-cartagena-15

2016-10-29-cartagena-22

2016-10-29-cartagena-29

2016-10-29-cartagena-36

2016-10-29-cartagena-57

2016-10-29-cartagena-76

2016-10-29-cartagena-80

2016-10-30-cartagena-01

2016-10-30-cartagena-07

2016-10-30-cartagena-24

2016-10-30-cartagena-34

2016-10-31-cartagena-07

2016-10-31-cartagena-10

2016-10-29-cartagena-05

2016-10-29-cartagena-01

2016-10-28-cartagena-69

Ma copine est arrivée très tard le dimanche après une longue journée de déplacement donc nous avons attendu au lundi matin pour que j’agisse comme guide touristique et lui fasse faire une visite rapide, mais complète de la vielle ville.

Regardez-moi comment les gens sont débrouillards. Pas de terrain de baseball fourni par la ville, pas de problème, on va s’en faire un terrain! Uniformes, arbitres, marqueurs tout le tralala d’une vraie partie de balle!

2016-10-30-cartagena-44

2016-10-30-cartagena-48

Le Mardi 1er novembre, nous avons enfourché la moto afin de se rendre à Mompos (aussi connu sous Mompox ou San Cruz de Mompox).

Cette ville est populaire auprès des touristes, mais s’y rendre demeure un défi. Pour les backpackers, il faut prendre plusieurs autobus. Pour les gens en moto comme nous, il faut emprunter certaines routes pas toujours faciles à trouver, pas ou peu entretenues et possiblement un traversier.

Google Map me dirige à un endroit, mon GPS à un autre et l’application maps.me génère une autre route.

J’ai pris le temps de consulter le site d’une agence de location de moto et de les contacter, car ceux-ci passent justement par cet endroit.

Motolombia – Motorcycle Tours and Rentals
#48, Avenida 6 Norte #48 Norte-48, Cali, Valle del Cauca, Colombie
+57 2 6659548

Ils ont été très gentils de me répondre et de me suggérer une route adéquate pour une grosse moto avec 2 passagers et leurs bagages.

La sortie de Cartagena a été passablement sportive! Des centaines de motos, camions, autos, vélos et piétons se dressent devant, derrière et sur chaque côté de la moto, nous coupant sans aucune gêne et circulant à quelques centimètres de nous, comme si c’était normal ou sécuritaire. Évidemment, c’est tout à fait normal pour eux, mais pas pour nous et certainement pas sécuritaire! Mais c’est fou et en même temps, passionnant et l’adrénaline fait son travail pour finalement nous aider à sortir de la ville et s’engager sur les multiples routes de campagne jusqu’à Mompos.

Les routes 25 et 80 ont été passablement moches, car il y a présentement beaucoup de construction afin de la faire passer de 2 à 4. Il y a aussi beaucoup plus de présence sur la route qu’au Mexique ou en Amérique Centrale, surtout des poids lourds. Une fois rendus sur la route de Santa Ana, nous pouvons enfin relaxer et apprécier le paysage.

Malgré tout, je dois admettre que même si les premières minutes ont été un peu difficiles, car j’ai dû m’habituer à conduire avec ma nouvelle passagère, c’était vraiment plaisant de me retrouver derrière les guidons après presque 10 jours de pause!

Des 3 routes proposées par mes différents outils de navigation, Google a été le gagnant, car ses cartes ont tenu compte d’un nouveau pont qui nous a permis de franchir la rivière Brazo de Mompos, ce qui fut un petit soulagement, car il aurait fallu mettre la moto sur une petite barque artisanale, ce qui n’était pas trop rassurant.

Mompos est relativement isolée et il y a peu de présence automobile, mais nous sommes envahis par des centaines de motos des notre entrée dans les rues de la ville. Comme des maringouins au printemps!

Les rues qui bordent la rivière sont paisibles et on y retrouve de belles séries de maisons anciennes et biens entretenus. Mais ce n’est pas le cas en sortant de ces rues touristiques! Il y a tellement de motos qu’il est difficile de traverser les intersections! Il nous faudrait des yeux tout le tour de la tête!

2016-11-01-mompos-06

2016-11-01-mompos-08

2016-11-01-mompos-20

2016-11-01-mompos-23

2016-11-01-mompos-41

2016-11-01-mompos-49

Le traversier que j’ai mentionné plus tôt! Ouf, heureux que le nouveau pont soit présent.

2016-11-02-mompos-003

Nous avons décidé de rester dans ce village 2 nuits, car un confrère aventurier m’avait contacté quelques semaines auparavant via le site advrider.com afin de me conseiller pour la portion de la Colombie de mon voyage, et ce dernier était justement dans le pays au moment de mon passage et en a profité pour venir nous rejoindre de Medellín avec sa conjointe.

J’en ai donc profité pour aller faire une course sur le petit chemin de terre longeant la rivière. Même si je sens ma forme se détériorer lentement depuis le début du voyage, ce fut encore une fois une sortie très plaisante qui m’a amené à rapidement sortir du village et jogger dans les terres agricoles, entourées d’un côté par la rivière, et de l’autre par des poulets, des chevaux, des vaches de toutes les couleurs possibles, des cochons de toutes les grosseurs et une belle verdure et tranquillité appréciée.

2016-11-02-mompos-007

Je me sens un peu observé!

2016-11-02-mompos-012

De retour à l’hôtel, j’ai proposé à ma copine d’enlever les paniers de sur la moto et de retourner sur cette petite route afin d’apprécier la région plus rurale qui se trouve aux portes de la ville.

Elle a hésité un peu, mais dès que je lui ai montré un petit vidéo d’un troupeau de vaches que j’ai croisé durant ma course, elle a accepté! (Elle adore les animaux!)

Nous sommes donc partis à l’aventure avec une moto beaucoup plus légère et une belle température chaude et ensoleillée.

Les premiers kilomètres ont été spectaculaires et relativement faciles à franchir, mais après quelques villages rudimentaires et isolés, la route a commencé à se détériorer. Celle-ci est composée uniquement de terre, ce qui a comme conséquence, durant la présente saison des pluies, d’endroit où il y a de la boue, parfois profonde.

Dans la plupart des cas, il est possible de passer en ralentissant un peu et en accélérant afin d’alléger la roue avant, le tout sans trop d’effort. Mais plus nous avancions, plus les boues étaient profondes et les accumulations d’eau présentes, si bien que ma passagère à dû descendre de la moto à quelques reprises afin de faciliter le passage.

À un moment, nous avons croisé une moto arrêtée en train d’évaluer ses options pour passer dans un des trous d’eau. Le conducteur, très sympathique, nous met en garde relativement à une portion de route un peu plus loin où le soleil ne peut pas assécher la route. Son passager, tenant 2 poulets vivant par les pattes, clairement en route vers un bon repas de Pollo a la Plancha, nous suggèrent de retourner sur nos pas, mais ce n’est pas tellement dans mes plans, car je viens de me taper une dizaine de passages de boue et mon GPS m’indique que l’embranchement à la route principale est beaucoup plus proche que de retourner sur mes pas.

Nous prenons donc le risque et nous lançons dans l’aventure!

Comme de fait, quelques centaines de mètres plus loin, un passage est recouvert par de gros arbres feuillus et la route est boueuse, accompagnée de quelques petits lacs (!) qui me semblent bien profonds. Nous prenons le temps d’observer les petites 125cc tanguer d’un côté et de l’autre dans la boue profonde pour finalement se risquer à traverser les 200 mètres dans le passage qui semble être le plus stable. Évidemment, ma passagère traverse à pied.

J’ai droit à quelques jurons dans l’interphone, car même à pied, c’est difficile et un peu… Salissant!

Je place la suspension de la moto à son niveau le plus bas afin de pouvoir placer les pieds au sol en cas de besoin, et m’assure que l’antipatinage est désengagé.

Je m’avance ensuite tranquillement dans le calvaire qui se dresse devant moi. Avais-je mentionné que la journée était ensoleillée et… chaude!

Je dois travailler très fort afin que la moto ne tombe pas, car c’est glissant comme conduire sur la glace. La roue arrière tourne dans le vide et je finis par glisser dans un trou d’eau. Je réussis à en sortir et le manège se répète à quelques reprises jusqu’à ce que la moto décide de se mettre en travers de la route, la roue arrière dans un trou profond et tournant dans le vide!

Je demande à ma partenaire de venir m’aider, car je suis incapable d’avancer ou de reculer. Ai-je besoin de vous dire que c’est de reculons qu’elle est revenue dans la boue qu’elle venait de traverser afin de venir pousser une moto faisant éclabousser une belle boue collante avec sa roue arrière.

Heureusement, un homme aussi sur une petite moto, s’est arrêté et est venu nous aider. Après quelques mouvements avant-arrière, j’ai réussi à sortir du lac de boue et me rendre de l’autre côté d’un passage difficile, complètement détrempé par la sueur, mais terriblement heureux de ne pas être tombé dans ce mélange collant et un peu dégueulasse. Mes bottes pèsent maintenant 2 kilos chaque, merci à la boue qui s’étant accumulé sur les semelles, jusqu’au bord de mon pantalon. La moto est aussi complètement ensuite d’une couche épaisse qui lui donne une allure de soldat de tranchée.

2016-11-02-mompos-038

2016-11-02-mompos-050

2016-11-02-mompos-054

2016-11-02-mompos-056

2016-11-02-mompos-058

Même sans bagages, une grosse GS dans la boue, ce n’est pas idéal, et l’embrayage de ma moto me l’a clairement fait savoir, produisant une odeur de surchauffe pas très plaisante. Les kilomètres suivants ont été un peu moins difficiles et beaucoup plus plaisants.

Nous avons finalement mis 3 heures pour parcourir le trajet des 50 km de cette petite promenade improvisée. Mais elle restera gravée comme un superbe souvenir!

Petite session de lavage improvisée.

2016-11-02-mompos-091

En début de soirée, mon contact ADVRider est arrivé avec sa conjointe et nous avons profité de la belle soirée pour marcher sur le bord de la rivière et partager un bon repas rempli d’histoires de voyages et de moto!

2016-11-02-mompos-092

2016-11-02-mompos-096

2016-11-01-mompos-51

2016-11-02-mompos-101

Nous partons tôt le lendemain pour une visite rapide de Barichara, un superbe village perché dans les montagnes!

2016-11-03-barichara-01

Quelques portions de route sont encore très mouillées et difficiles à franchir.

2016-11-03-barichara-05

2016-11-03-barichara-09

2016-11-04-villa-de-leyva-001

2016-11-04-villa-de-leyva-008

Une chose bien appréciée en Colombie, les motos n’ont pas à s’arrêter (ni payer!) aux postes de péage!

2016-11-04-villa-de-leyva-028

Une chose semble aussi très évidente après ces premiers jours à parcourir le pays: les montagnes sont omniprésentes et il faudra prévoir des temps de déplacement un peu plus longs qu’à l’habitude.

Article Suivant (Récent) ⇨

Jour 54 à 62 - Colombie - Suite et fin

2016-11-04 - Jour 54 - Barichara, CO à Villa de Leyva, CO (198 km - 3:40 hrs) 2016-11-05 - Jour 55 - Villa de Leyva, CO à Medellín, CO (419 km - 8:40 hrs) 2016-11-06 - Jour 56 - Medellín, CO 2016-11-07 - Jour 57 - Medellín, CO à Jardin, ... Read more

⇦ Article Précédent (Ancien)

Jour 43 à 47 - Le Voilier Stahlratte et la traversée vers la Colombie

2016-10-24 - Jour 43 - Puerto de Carti, PA à El Porvenir, PA (4:15 hrs - 124 km) 2016-10-25 - Jour 44 - El Porvenir, PA à San Blas Islas, PA (4:30 hrs - 44 km) 2016-10-26 - Jour 45 - San Blas Islas, PA à Cartagena, Colombie 2016-10-27 - ... Read more


Marc Ouellet

Aventurier dans l'âme. En route vers l'Amérique du Sud sur 2 roues bientôt!

1 Commentaire
  • Bruce
    Répondre

    Salut Marc, Caro et moi seront en Colombie du 9 décembre au 7 janvier. Peut-être va ont se croiser ;-)?
    Excellente description de ton voyage et superbe photos. Bonne route pour la suite.

    1. Marc Ouellet
      Répondre

      Merci Bruce!

      Malheureusement, la rencontre n’aura pas lieu car je suis déjà rendu en Équateur!!!

      Voyage organisé ou vous parcourez le pays par vous-même?

      1. Bruce
        Répondre

        Une partie organisé car nous alors faire du trekking dans la jungle jusqu’à la Cuidad Perdida. Nous étions en Equateur en Octobre dernier et le pays est superbe. Si tu as le temps, une visite aux îles Galapagos vaux vraiment le déplacement mais un peu difficile en moto.
        Ciao

        1. Marc Ouellet
          Répondre

          J’ai fait le trek il y a quelques années! J’avais réalisé un petit vidéo à l’époque: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RAIqFCeGbvE

          Enjoy!

  • chantal cournoyer
    Répondre

    C’est le fun que Nadine soit allé te rejoindre ! Tu devais être content de savoir qu’elle y allait si tôt dans ton voyage !

    1. Marc Ouellet
      Répondre

      Effectivement, sauf que maintenant je dois me ré-habituer à être seul!!!

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

*

code

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial