Day 101 to 107 – Chile – The Gateway to Patagonia

2017-01-18 – Day 101 – Santiago, CL to Colbùn, CL (350 km – 4,5 hrs)
2017-01-19 – Day 102 – Colbùn, CL to Concepcion, CL(274 km – 4,5 hrs)
2017-01-20 – Day 103 – Concepcion, CL to Pucon (463 km – 6,5 hrs)
2017-01-21 – Day 104 – Around Pucon, CL (33 km – 1 hrs)
2017-01-22 – Day 105 – Around Pucon, CL (60 km – 1 hrs)
2017-01-23 – Day 106 – Pucon, CL to Puerto Varas, CL (373 km – 5,5 hrs)
2017-01-24 – Day 107 – Pureto Varas, CL

Patagonia unofficially starts around the region of Chaiten, located 1500 km south of Santiago. It is perfect this way as this allowed me to get used again to my life on a motorcycle and restart the routine of my trip.

I left Santiago on January 18th with an initial objective to go to Pucon, but since my motorbike got out of the workshop only early in the afternoon, I reviewed my plans.

I did not really decide on a destination, if only a big region about 300 km to the south where several lakes are present. With the help of the ioverlander.com website and of its iPhone app, I looked at some places with the possibility of camping, because it was out of question that spent the night in a city. I also took my time by taking the small roads and that sometimes provided gravel portions. I arrived near the village of Colbùn around 5:00 PM, where I drove a dirt track along a big lake to end up finding in this place all to myself!

A few wild horses to keep me company…

I spent a quiet evening, even if my Chilean friends have to make noise that seems to cover the whole country as soon as the sun sets. It is nevertheless sad to waste such a quiet place with loud boom boom music.

But I nevertheless appreciated the moment and I woke up the following day quite late. I slowly lined up my things and set off around 10:00 AM to get to a big city which I was always curious to visit, Concepcion.

I took the time to reserve a hostal but unfortunately, when I arrived, the room was not available anymore and I had to go to only other available low-cost establishment, but it was so disgusting! Thank God it was only for a night!

It is not obvious to find cheap accommodations in Chile. On top of that, I have 2 very important criteria. First, no dormitories. My apologies, but I passed the age! Also, the place must have secure parking for my motorbike. If I had a 100$ budget per night, it would not be a problem, but I try not to spend more than 40$/night for this country, and it is proving to be a real challenge.

The road between Colbùn and Concepcion reminds me of some places of California and Canada. At the beginning, climate is very dry, there were several vineyards and I crossed countless wildfires!

Then, things progressively change to forests with large pines and the smell is exactly the same as in the Laurentides region, north of Montreal in the Quebec, during our beautiful summers.

I programmed my GPS not to use the motorway, therefore I got lucky and found myself driving alone on small quiet dirt tracks along farms and forests. It was very quiet and I appreciated driving slowly during several hours.

Concepcion is relatively large and the centre is very dynamic. Unfortunately, it is also very loud, especially due to the hundreds of old buses which go up and down at full speed on almost every street. There is a place reserved for the pedestrians in the centre, but the city was definitely constructed to favour cars and this is passed on in the vibe the city gives me. A lot of automobiles driving fast, many buses and taxis and as a bad memory of Peru, several drivers make a stupid usage of their horn…

It’s centre is not very refined in terms of restaurants and boutiques. The city is also a bit dirty. It is sad, because it is obvious that the local administration went thru a great deal of trouble to construct modern and sometimes impressive facilities, but by looking closely, maintenance is not there and it spoils the show.

As you can see, it is not, according to my criteria, a detour that was justified.

On January 20th, I headed for the region of Pucon. The road was correct, and once again, very similar to the roads of Canada. I tried to take the country roads, which are much more fun as the 90 kilometres which I had to go through on the highway 5 were not interesting at all.

When I got on the road leading to Pucon and passing thru Villarrica, it was a complete mess. I think that half of the population of the country arranged to meet in the region for this summer weekend! 2 cities are overcrowded and as it’s more than 30 degrees Celsius, I only made a quick stop, because I was a very warm in my motorbike gear.

I headed directly to a hostal that I had reserved online, located about 20 minutes outside the city. The place is a cottage with several rooms that are rented to tourists. As it is now custom, it was quiet during the day, but at night, when all clients were back, it became rather busy! The owners are great and helpful, but a single night here will be sufficient!

I was nevertheless took the time to take a nice walk to have a better view on the volcano called Villarrica, which besides being an important attraction for the region, is really splendid and imposing.

On the 21st, I packed my bags and headed for a mystical place at the motorcyclists Motocamp Pucon. I was hesitant to arrive during the weekend, but it was not justified and it is a wonderful place (I come back to it a little later).

I left my things there to rive to Parque Nacional Huerquehue to do a quick hike in forest. The place is very touristy and it is only a few kilometres of walking that I could really enjoy the moment.

A new friend, not at all impressed by my presence!

At the end of the day, I set up my things on one of the tables of the big terrace at Motocamp Pucon to spend a quiet evening and working on my blog, but the this was fast transformed into a small party. I got to bed way too late, and I drank way too much Pisco, thanks to a fellow Chilean rider!!!

Thank you also to Christian, the owner of the establishment, for his warm welcome and his good advice! A truth overlander with a motorcycle round the world trip under his belt!

Small side note on this place which is simply incredible. His owner is not only an adventurer, he is also an architect and this marriage of knowledge make the place perfect for travellers like me. Do not to miss if you are in the region, even without a motorbike! A note of 10 out of 10!

He is also a very good cook, starting with his great technique of the artificial volcano to light his BBQ! Only on match is needed!

The following morning, it was a bit difficult to get up, having quite a headache! I nevertheless took some time to work on the bike and later, I drove to the ski centre located at the bottom of the Villarrica volcano.

I then parked the motorbike and walked a bit in the city of Pucon. Interesting, but not my type of place. Way too many tourists! The beach was completely overcrowded of Chileans! It was even difficult for me to get to the water to take a picture because it was so packed! Not my type of place at all!!! The city is a bit of a bad crossing between Banff and Ogunquit during a 4th of July long weekend!

I also had the privilege to try a small and very new motorbike. It so much different from my bike that I looked and felt like a beginner!

I also met Thomas (and his spouse) who arrived directly from Germany 5 days ago and are also making their way south on their BMW 800GS!

Departure from Motocamp Chile was a bit difficult… It is such a great place!

But the landscapes driving towards Puerto Varas, especially when using the small roads, made me forget what I left behind!

Puerto Varas is also very touristic, but in a much more lesser than Pucon. I feel much more comfortable in this type of place. It is, however, necessary to mention that it was a week day. I might also get very crowded during the weekends. Besides, as you can determine from the photos, the Patagonia climate begins to sets slowly but surely!

Some weeks ago, when I had had problems with my suspension, I reached for assistance on the Internet, and more precisely, on the Facebook page from Horizon Unlimited. One of the persons to give me judicious advice was Daniel Palazzolo, an American from Atlanta, but but who now resides in Puerto Varas with his Chilean spouse. He is an accomplished mechanic, but also an experienced businessman at the head of Motorbike Patagonia, a firm providing motorcycle expeditions in the south of Chile.

We kept in touch and I ended up changing my route, which was supposed to go thru Puerto Montt, to meet him in Puerto Varas.

We went out for a couple of cold beers in the evening of January 23rd and he helped me to optimize my plans for Patagonia. He also proposed a tour of the region the following day, but the sky was a bit grey and I really had no energy to drive for anything else but to advance southward, therefore I took the time to go for a much needed 10K jogging session along the lake, and even had a small siesta in afternoon!!!

That evening, Daniel invited me at his home to have diner with his girlfriend and a couple of friends from Oregon, but have been living here for the past 3 years. A superb night surrounded by nature, birds, a superb view of the lake and the mountains. Thank you Dan! I strongly recommend this guy as guide for all of those who would like to make part of this trip without starting in Canada. Besides being a certified mechanic, he knows the region very well and is one really cool guy. On top of that, his motorcycle fleet, made up of KLR’s, is very recent and in perfect condition. I invite you to visit his website: www.motopatagonia.com

Next Article (Recent) ⇨

Day 108 to 110 - Chile - The Carretera Austral

2017-01-25 - Day 108 - Puerto Varas, CL to Pucon, CL (323 km - 17 hrs) 2017-01-26 - Day 109 - Pucon, CL to Coyhaique, CL (453 km - 8,25 hrs) 2017-01-27 - Day 110 - Coyhaique, CL to Cochrane (323 km - 8 hrs) The Carretera Austal is one ... Read more

⇦ Previous Article (Older)

Day 99 and 100 – Chile – Back to South America!

2017-01-16 - Day 99 - Montréal, CA to Santiago, CL 2017-01-16 - Day 100 - Santiago, CL I am back in Santiago, Chile, after a well deserved but a bit too long break. It was nice to spend time with my girlfriend, my mother and my friends, but I realize, ... Read more


Marc Ouellet

Adventurer at heart. Travelling on 2 wheels to South America soon!

0 COMMENTS
  • Chris
    Reply

    Magnifique encore une fois !

    1. Marc Ouellet
      Reply

      Merci Christine! 🙂

  • Geoffrey Parsons
    Reply

    Afternoon Marc,
    Once again another great story with terrific photos.
    You are dealing with crowded sunny beaches. Would you like to trade with me and shovel the snow on my driveway? Some of the forest scenes could be north of Montreal. Very similar.
    Have fun. Relax. Be stupid sometimes. But don’t miss your ferry ride!
    Geoffrey

    1. Marc Ouellet
      Reply

      Be stupid? Don’t you think me being here on a f… motorcycle isn’t stupid enough??? Kidding appart, which you could be here too! It would make to stupid part easier!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

code

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial

Jour 101 à 107 – Chili – La Porte d’Entrée de la Patagonie

2017-01-18 – Jour 101 – Santiago, CL à Colbùn, CL (350 km – 4,5 hrs)
2017-01-19 – Jour 102 – Colbùn, CL à Concepcion, CL(274 km – 4,5 hrs)
2017-01-20 – Jour 103 – Concepcion, CL à Pucon (463 km – 6,5 hrs)
2017-01-21 – Jour 104 – Autour de Pucon, CL (33 km – 1 hrs)
2017-01-22 – Jour 105 – Autour de Pucon, CL (60 km – 1 hrs)
2017-01-23 – Jour 106 – Pucon, CL à Puerto Varas, CL (373 km – 5,5 hrs)
2017-01-24 – Jour 107 – Puerto Varas, CL

La Patagonie débute officieusement autour de la région de Chaiten, situé à 1500 km au sud de Santiago. C’est parfait ainsi, car cela me donne la chance de retrouver mes repères sur la moto et ma routine de voyage.

J’ai quitté Santiago le 18 janvier avec un objectif initial de me rendre jusqu’à Pucon, mais comme ma moto est sortie de l’atelier qu’en début d’après-midi, j’ai révisé mes plans.

Je ne me suis pas vraiment donné de destination, si ce n’est qu’une grande région à environ 300 km au sud où on retrouve plusieurs lacs. À l’aide du site ioverlander.com et de son application pour iPhone, j’ai regardé quelques endroits offrant la possibilité de camper, car il était hors de question que je me retrouve dans une ville. J’ai aussi pris mon temps en empruntant les petites routes secondaires et même parfois des petits chemins de gravier. Je me suis donc retrouvé vers 17h00 près du village de Colbùn où j’ai emprunté un chemin de terre longeant un grand lac pour me retrouver seul à cet endroit!

Quelques chevaux sauvages pour me tenir compagnie…

J’ai passé une soirée tranquille, même si mes amis chiliens ont le dont de faire du bruit dans l’ensemble de leur pays dès que le soleil se couche. C’est quand même pathétique de gaspiller un tel endroit paisible avec de la grosse musique boum boum venant de tous les sens… Malheureux.

Mais bon, j’ai quand même apprécié le moment et je me suis réveillé le lendemain assez tard. J’ai lentement rangé mes choses et pris la route vers 10h00 afin de me rendre dans une grande ville que j’ai toujours été curieux de visiter, Concepcion.

J’ai pris le temps de réserver un petit hostal mais malheureusement, à mon arrivée, il n’y avait plus de chambre disponible et je me suis retrouvé dans un autre établissement à prix très modique, mais tellement dégueulasse! Une chance que c’était juste pour une nuit!

Ce n’est pas évident de trouver des chambres à bas prix au Chili. En plus, j’ai 2 critères très importants. Premièrement, pas de dortoir. Désolé, mais j’ai passé l’âge! Aussi, il faut que je puisse stationner ma moto sécuritairement. Si j’avais un budget de 100$ par nuit, ce ne serait pas un problème, mais je cherche à ne pas dépasser 40$/nuit pour ce pays,  et ce n’est vraiment pas facile.

La route entre Colbùn et Concepcion me rappelle à la fois certains endroits de la Californie et du Canada. Au début, le climat est très sec, il y a plusieurs vignobles et j’ai croisé d’innombrables feux de forêt!

Ensuite, le tout change progressivement pour des forêts de grands pins et l’odeur est exactement la même que lors de mes randonnées dans les Laurentides, au nord de Montréal au Québec.

J’ai programmé mon GPS afin de ne pas emprunter l’autoroute donc j’ai eu la chance de parfois me retrouver sur des petits chemins de terre tranquilles longeant des fermes et des forêts. C’était très paisible et j’ai apprécié rouler lentement pendant plusieurs heures.

Concepcion est relativement grande et son centre est très dynamique. Malheureusement, elle est aussi très bruyante, surtout dû aux centaines de vieux autobus qui sillonnent à toute vitesse presque toutes les rues. Il y a un endroit réservé aux piétons dans le centre, mais la ville a définitivement été construite pour favoriser les déplacements automobiles et ça se transmet dans la vibration que la ville me donne. Beaucoup d’autos qui roulent vite, beaucoup d’autobus et de taxis et comme un mauvais souvenir du Pérou, plusieurs conducteurs font un usage imbécile de leur klaxon…

Son centre n’est pas très raffiné au niveau des restaurants et des boutiques. La ville est aussi un peu sale. C’est malheureux, car il est aussi évident que l’administration locale s’est donné beaucoup de mal à construire des infrastructures modernes et parfois impressionnantes, mais en regardant de plus près, l’entretien n’y est pas et ça gâche le spectacle.

Comme vous pouvez le constater, ce n’est pas un coup de coeur et, selon mes critères, le détour n’était pas justifié.

Le 20 janvier, je me suis dirigé vers la région de Pucon. La route était correcte, et encore une fois, très similaire aux routes du Canada. J’ai tenté de prendre le plus possible les chemins secondaires et c’est bien ainsi, car les 90 kilomètres que j’ai eu à parcourir sur l’autoroute 5 n’étaient pas intéressants.

Quand je me suis engagé sur la route menant à Pucon et passant par Villarrica, c’était le bordel total. Je crois que la moitié de la population du pays s’est donné rendez-vous dans cette région pour cette fin de semaine estivale! Les 2 villes sont pleines à craquer et il fait plus de 30 degrés Celsius donc, je n’ai fait qu’un passage rapide, car j’avais un peu chaud dans mon équipement de moto.

Je me suis dirigé directement dans un hostal que j’avais réservé, situé à 20 minutes à l’extérieur de la ville. L’endroit est un peu comme un chalet avec plusieurs chambres qui sont louées aux touristes. Comme c’est maintenant coutume, c’était tranquille durant la journée, mais en soirée, quand tous les clients étaient de retour, c’est devenu pas mal animé! Les propriétaires sont super sympathiques et aidants, mais une seule soirée ici sera suffisante!

J’en ai quand même profité pour aller prendre une belle marche sur le chemin afin d’avoir une meilleure vue sur le volcan Villarrica, qui en plus d’être une attraction importante pour la région, est vraiment splendide et imposant.

Le 21, j’ai fait mes bagages et me suis dirigé vers un endroit mystique chez les motocyclistes, Motocamp Pucon. J’étais hésitant à y arriver durant la fin de semaine, mais ce n’était pas justifié et c’est un endroit très bien (j’y reviens un peu plus loin).

J’y ai laissé mes choses pour ensuite me rendre au Parque Nacional Huerquehue afin de faire une petite randonnée en forêt. L’endroit est très touristique et ce n’est qu’en prenant les sentiers un peu plus éloignés que j’ai vraiment pu profiter de moments paisibles.

Un nouvel ami pas du tout impressionné par ma présence!

En soirée, je me suis installé sur une des tables de la grande terrasse du camping afin de passer une soirée tranquille et travailler un peu sur mon blogue, mais le tout s’est rapidement transformé en petite fiesta. Je me suis couché beaucoup trop tard, et j’ai bu beaucoup trop de Pisco, merci à un confrère motard chilien!!! Merci aussi à Christian, le propriétaire de l’établissement, pour son accueil chaleureux et ses nombreux conseils! Un vrai overlander qui a un tour du monde à moto à son palmarès!

Petite note sur cet endroit qui est simplement incroyable. Son propriétaire est non seulement un aventurier accomplit, il est aussi architecte et ce mariage de connaissances font de son établissement l’endroit parfait pour les voyageurs comme moi. À ne pas manquer si vous passez par là même sans moto! Une note de 10/10!

Il est aussi un excellent chef, en commençant par sa super technique du volcan artificiel pour allumer son BBQ! Seulement une allumette est requise!

Le lendemain, j’ai eu un peu de misère à me réveiller et une fois debout, j’avais un petit mal de tête de lendemain de veille! J’en ai quand même profité pour travailler un peu sur la moto et par la suite, je me suis rendu au centre de ski situé à la base du volcan Villarrica.

J’ai ensuite stationné la moto et marché dans la ville de Pucon. Intéressant, mais pas mon style de place. Beaucoup trop touristique! La plage était totalement bondée de Chiliens en quête de rafraichissement! Il me fut difficile de me rendre sur le bord de l’eau pour prendre une photo tellement c’était bondé! Pas mon genre d’endroit… La ville est un peu un mauvais croisement entre Banff et Ogunquit pendant la fin de semaine du 4 juillet!

J’ai aussi eu le privilège d’essayer une petite moto toute neuve. C’est tellement différent de ce que je conduis que j’avais l’air d’un débutant!

J’ai aussi fait la rencontre de Thomas (et sa conjointe) arrivé directement d’Allemagne il y a 5 jours et en route vers le sur sur leur BMW 800GS!

Le départ de Motocamp Chile fut un peu difficile… C’est un endroit pas mal plaisant!

Mais les paysages vers Puerto Varas, surtout en passant par les petites routes, m’ont fait oublier ce que j’ai laissé derrière!

Puerto Varas est aussi très touristique, mais avec une envergure beaucoup plus moindre de Pucon. Je me sens beaucoup plus à l’aise dans ce type d’environnement plus humain. Il faut aussi dire que c’est la semaine donc l’endroit est moins achalandé. De plus, comme vous pouvez le constater sur les photos, le climat Patagonien commence aussi tranquillement à s’installer!

Il y a quelques semaines, quand j’avais eu des problèmes de suspension, j’avais cherché un peu d’aide sur internet, et plus précisément, sur la page Facebook de Horizon Unlimited. Une des personnes à me donner de judicieux conseils fut Daniel Palazzolo, un Américain d’Atlanta, mais maintenant résidant de Puerto Varas avec sa conjointe chilienne. Il est un mécanicien accompli, mais aussi un entrepreneur chevronné à la tête de Moto Patagonia, une entreprise offrant des expéditions moto dans le sud du Chili.

Nous avons gardé contact et j’ai finalement changer mon itinéraire qui était de me rendre à Puerto Montt afin de le rencontrer à Puerto Varas, ce qui explique ma présence ici.

Nous sommes allés prendre une petite bière froide le soir du 23 janvier et il m’a aidé a optimiser ma route vers le sud. Un chic type! Il m’a aussi offert un tour de la région en moto le lendemain, mais le temps était un peu gris et je n’avais pas vraiment l’énergie de rouler pour autre chose que progresser vers le sud donc j’ai pris le temps de faire une petite pause, un beau 10 km de jogging le long du lac, et même une petite sieste en après-midi!!!

En soirée, Daniel m’a invité chez lui pour un petit souper avec sa conjointe et un couple d’amis originaire de l’Orégon, mais vivant ici depuis 3 ans. Une superbe soirée entourée par la nature, les oiseaux, une superbe vue sur le lac et les montagnes. Merci encore Dan! Je recommande fortement ce type comme guide pour tous ceux qui voudraient faire une partie de ce voyage sans débuter au Canada. En plus d’être un mécanicien certifié, il connait très bien la région et est un vraiment chic type. En plus, sa flotte de moto KLR est très récente et en parfait état. Je vous invite à visiter son site: www.motopatagonia.com

Article Suivant (Récent) ⇨

Jour 108 à 110 - Chili - La Carretera Austral

2017-01-25 - Jour 108 - Puerto Varas, CL à Pucon, CL (323 km - 17 hrs) 2017-01-26 - Jour 109 - Pucon, CL à Coyhaique, CL (453 km - 8,25 hrs) 2017-01-27 - Jour 110 - Coyhaique, CL à Cochrane, CL (323 km - 8 hrs) La Carretera Austal est ... Read more

⇦ Article Précédent (Ancien)

Jour 99 et 100 – Chili – De Retour en Amérique du Sud!

2017-01-16 - Jour 99 - Montréal, CA à Santiago, CL 2017-01-16 - Jour 100 - Santiago, CL Je suis de retour à Santiago, Chili, après une pause méritée, mais un peu longue. Ce fut plaisant de passer de bons moments avec ma copine, ma mère et mes amis, mais je ... Read more


Marc Ouellet

Aventurier dans l'âme. En route vers l'Amérique du Sud sur 2 roues bientôt!

1 Commentaire
  • Chris
    Répondre

    Magnifique encore une fois !

    1. Marc Ouellet
      Répondre

      Merci Christine! 🙂

  • Geoffrey Parsons
    Répondre

    Afternoon Marc,
    Once again another great story with terrific photos.
    You are dealing with crowded sunny beaches. Would you like to trade with me and shovel the snow on my driveway? Some of the forest scenes could be north of Montreal. Very similar.
    Have fun. Relax. Be stupid sometimes. But don’t miss your ferry ride!
    Geoffrey

    1. Marc Ouellet
      Répondre

      Be stupid? Don’t you think me being here on a f… motorcycle isn’t stupid enough??? Kidding appart, which you could be here too! It would make to stupid part easier!

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

*

code

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial